11.22.2015 Mount Lizzie and Quabbin Valley

Color…Fog…Color…Fog…what’s next?  🙂

We started with a drizzle and overcast with scattered fog.  One place it scattered was over the Quabbin Reservoir.  Yesterday’s brilliant sunrise was just a memory today.  Nice one, though.

I may have mentioned before that I have an ongoing project of gathering images of Mount Lizzie.  I admire Hokusai’s multiple paintings of Mount Fuji and aspire to some smaller collection.  There is not the opportunity for as much variety in the landscape as Mount Fuji, but there are several views to work with.

As with Friday’s pano, please click through to the largest image.Mount-Lizzie-and-Quabbin-Valley-112215-700WebIt is quite amazing to realize that all these islands were at one time hills and beneath the water former towns with homes, businesses and other features.  There are sections that are identified on my Quabbin map as ponds, including one just to the left of Lizzie called “Sunk Pond”.  I think that is its original name as it appears that way on the map I have of the “proposed” reservoir before construction.

So, the forecast for tomorrow is sun.  I guess my next post will be in color.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Water, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 11.22.2015 Mount Lizzie and Quabbin Valley

  1. Jim in IA says:

    Pictures like this one are dreamlike. Enough detail is invisible to make our mind try to fill in the missing parts. It is unlike what we usually see.

    Has anyone done any underwater exploring to find the submerged homes, etc?

    Liked by 1 person

    • All the homes and building were either moved or demolished, Jim. There are still some foundations and other small structures and several years ago a crew of divers did put together a film called “Under Quabbin” which shows a lot of what still lies beneath. Unfortunately, I don’t think that is available on the internet…at least not on YouTube. There is this TV piece about Quabbin and for a few moments towards the end we see some of that film.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Like Jim, I found myself wondering what more there might be to the story. I like the dreamy aspect of this. Are you going to get the snow, too, or did it dump it all on us?

    Liked by 1 person

    • No snow for us, Melissa. I did see a few windblown flakes this morning while the sun was shining. Not exactly a blizzard. 🙂

      The video I posted above tells the story pretty well. Thanks.

      Like

      • I’ll go check out the video. After last winter you are probably none too eager for snow. I’m happy to report that ours is melting quickly. Whew!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Six of one half of the other, Melissa. I look forward to the snow for its beauty, but not the clean up. 🙂

        Like

      • The video was amazing. I knew a valley was flooded in Tennessee and I had a vague idea it was done elsewhere, but I didn’t know an enormous reservoir was created by you. It is hard to know just how to feel about that. I guess at this point one would just be happy it is there, with all of the land around it preserved as a buffer. Out west we don’t like it much when rivers are dammed but I think the circumstances are quite different.

        Liked by 1 person

      • At this point, appreciation of its current condition is to be appreciated. But every time I go there I am aware of what was taken from people in order for Boston to have water and, beyond that, us to have a more or less wild place to visit.

        Like

      • I have come to see that is the case with deep appreciation of anything~the thing itself, and its cost.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. shoreacres says:

    I very much like the way each enlargement opens up the channels through the islands. It reminds me of Alaska, where the view from the water is similar. Perhaps that’s part of the reason for the dreamlike impression. It’s the fog, of coures, but also that the landscape unfolds as you travel through it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for noticing the channels, Linda. I hobbled over many a cobble to get the right angle for them to open up in the composition. The shoreline is covered with them and my balance isn’t what it once was. There is no mistaking me for a mountain goat.

      Like

  4. A dreamy and dreary scene. Very mood in B&W. Excellent shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The building of a dam decades ago caused a small town on the Mexican side of the Rio Grande to disappear under a lake, but every so often during a drought the waters have receded and temporarily let the old settlement reappear to varying degrees:

    http://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/a-flooded-mexican-ghost-town-offers-refuge-to-border-crossers

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

