11.21.2015 Fair start to a nice day

Today was another of those curious day’s with a sky that was fairly inscrutable.  Some stars here, but lots of clouds too.  The horizon looked like it would be another of those days where a cloud bank buries the eastern sky.  But there was some hope with a few openings here and there and before I knew it…Quabbin-Hill-Twilight-112115-700Webthe sky above Quabbin Hill was brilliantly illuminated with orange, crimson and purple, bathing the water in darker tones of red and magenta.  I know I’ve shared several of what some folks describe as “nuclear” skies but this tops them all, I think.

BTW, shortly after this shot, the sky did close up for a while, long enough to hide the actual sunrise.  Luck was with me.  🙂

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 11.21.2015 Fair start to a nice day

  1. shoreacres says:

    I just looked up “scrutable,” because it occurred to me that I’ve only heard people use “inscrutable.” Well, there it was.Then I wondered, could “scrute” be a verb? Eventually I found the French word scruter, which means to scan, and the phrase scruter le ciel, or “scan the sky.” That’s exactly what you were doing this morning, and I’m glad you did. The colors are remarkable, and the V-shaped line of clouds above the tower looks for all the world like a flock of migrating birds.

    Liked by 1 person

    • And I have only heard people use inscrutable to describe people. I wonder if folks will know what I mean if I start to use “scruter le ciel”. That might be our inside joke.

      I really liked the series of triangular clouds and wished they would have stayed where they were when I arrived. But the wind was gusty and they migrated across the scene. At least they stuck around for a few frames. Add to that my use of a neutral density filter to lengthen the exposure as the water was extremely choppy and the clouds became soft which I like too.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim in IA says:

    A couple of mornings ago we left before sunrise for the grocery store to beat the crowd and have breakfast. The sky was a pretty color like your photo.

    This morning it was very low and grey and full of snow. We got 6-7″ of sky on us.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The variety from day to day keeps it interesting. Who wants a gorgeous sky every day? OK, everyone does, I guess.
      At some point I will be looking forward to that falling sky stuff, but not quite yet.

      Like

  3. An incredible photo here. Probably the best sunrise color that you have photographed.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Radhika says:

    Wow! Amazing shot! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. As you mentioned, the way the water picked up some of the sky’s colors made this picture even more impressive than it would already have been.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The colors are amazing. A pleasurable view, for sure. Excellent capture.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

