11.14.2015 Peace

I am no policy genius or even a policy hack. But I do know this…IS wants a world conflagration because they believe it will lead to a Caliphate. The more the West responds with hatred and violence towards Muslim people, the more converts they will receive for their army. We will be playing into their hand and helping them recruit. Of course there must be a strong response, but it has to meted out with intelligence and deliberation, not a knee jerk violent retaliation upon innocent people who had no involvement.

If the civilized countries of the world would draw together as one this would go a long way toward dealing with these people. We are so suspicious of each other, often with good reason, but those suspicions and their causes need to be dealt with sensibly for the good of all. Within our own countries we need to learn how to get along and work toward a common goal, not point fingers and try to affix blame on one or the other. This was a two-fold attack by the terrorists. They say they were retaliating for France’s involvement in Syria and they know that people will attack Muslims in France and elsewhere which will bolster their strength. We must not let that happen. They do not respect human life…we must continue to show that we do.

I am sure that many will disagree with me. And maybe my reasoning is simplistic. We all have different opinions, but if we don’t express ourselves with understanding then all hope is lost.

Guess that I am just another dreamer.

Yellow-star-in-mono-060114-700

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 11.14.2015 Peace

  1. Just Rod says:

    Well said Steve. I am a believer in one who taught that you cannot beat evil with evil. Only love can beat violence.

    If the worlds leaders worked together we could eradicate injustice and poverty. But that takes courage snd generosity. They will only do it if they feel enough pressure from the people and that takes generosity. We need to be ready to give up some of our comfort and be willing to share what we have. Politicians do not believe we are ready or willing.
    It all starts with each individual.
    Thanks for your thoughtful post Steve

    Liked by 3 people

  2. We are being tested, future generations will measure our generation, our time, by how we respond.

    Like

  3. Amen Steve. Very well stated. The middle must hold. Thank you.

    And, on a very different note, incredible image. I love your black and whites, not surprisingly.

    Thanks again.

    James

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Well said, Steve. Thank you for this post~you are right, it can be scary to speak our minds but you have done so beautifully. I confess I have been angry today, and my thoughts were knee-jerk reactions.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I am not too fearful so much as generally unsure of my words and whether what little logic I am able to employ will get through cogently, Melissa. Every once in a while I am able to put my thoughts into words that get an idea across…other times, the less I say the better.
      Thank you for seeing some value in my post.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. I found it:

    https://sggphoto.wordpress.com/2014/06/01/06-01-2014-yellow-is-the-color/

    I remember that this is one of your favorite wildflowers to photograph.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. shoreacres says:

    There’s always a temptation to portray complex situations in “black and white” terms, but your photo’s a good reminder that, even in black and white photography, the differences aren’t always so sharply drawn. Here, the white isn’t pristine, and the black isn’t stark: the various grays are just as important to the image. I suspect the “grays” will be important in resolving the current strife, as well.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Let’s hope that to be the case, Linda. The perpetrators have sworn to never negotiate and wish us to convince others of our hate for those others. Too much hate in the world. And too many people trying to use that hate to their advantage on many levels.
      Thanks for noticing the various Zones at work here. The processing is quite different from what I do with color.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Andrew says:

    As you know Steve I spent a lot of time in Pakistan, a Muslim country. Wonderful people, devoted to cricket. I cannot bring myself to tar all my friends with the same brush of hatred just because they are Muslims. You invariably speak up for tolerance and moderation and I am with you all the way.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I remember your last trip there and the images you shared showing the people in their everyday lives, Andrew. It is a dangerous part of the world and most especially for those everyday people.
      I am glad that we share the same values, Andrew.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. An insightful and thought provoking post. Knee jerk reactions never produce a satisfactory outcome. The B&W photo is my kind of photo. It’s outstanding.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I love B&W, flowers, and macro, so this one is fabulous all-around. Gorgeous capture.

    I value being responsive, rather than reactive in life. It has saved many of my personal and work relationships. For me what it means to respond is to hold one’s temper which, although completely understandable generally solves nothing and in fact often makes matters much worse.

    On the various social media sites I have perused, I am actually heartened by many of the responses to the attacks on Paris. The majority of them being peaceful, empathetic, and loving rather than fear-based hatred. What you’ve written is eloquent, thoughtful, and moving. You’re not “just another dreamer” there are a lot more us than some would like to believe.

    Liked by 1 person

    • For the most part, people are sensible, I believe. But those who aren’t make a lot of noise and cause a lot of trouble. We are still paying for a recent leader’s lack of patience. There’s a lot of value in counting to ten…or a thousand at times. Thanks for the encouragement.

      I am glad you liked this, I.K. I’ve done a few flowers in B&W and think there should be more. (No doubt Steve S. just felt “a disturbance in The Force”) Maybe a winter project.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I was just talking about this with another friend and we believe that for the most part people are of the “live and let live”variety. We’re just quieter. There do come times though, when we must be heard. I’m glad you found encouragement in my words!

        And that sounds like a fantastic winter project! I’ll look forward to it.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Gallivanta says:

    Perhaps another dreamer…..http://www.nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/peace/laureates/1952/schweitzer-lecture.html …… I don’t know how we resolve these problems, but obliterating each side with bombs is rarely the right answer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think it is ever the answer. While the dropping of atomic bombs did bring the end of WWII, I would not classify that as the right answer either. The devastation and suffering it brought on was if a much greater magnitude than something akin to traditional warfare would have brought. There are no easy or obvious answers to what we are facing now. There is no negotiating with this group and they are fighting to force their view of religion on the world. I don’t think Mr. Schweitzer would have an answer for this and I have a sad feeling that there may not be one. Only time will tell.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

