11.08.2015 Murphy Falls

As far as I know, this little waterfall has no name.  But when we lost Murphy I turned to this particular spot for some comfort.  It’s such a lovely little waterfall and the sound, even in low flow, drowns out all else.  I was able to be truly alone with my thoughts although I was able to share them with image-making.  I now visit it often and have decided to give it this name.

Yesterday started nice enough with a brilliant twilight before clouds covered the horizon ruling out an actual sunrise.  Wondering where to go next, I decided to visit Murphy Falls.  We have had little rain for quite a while with a one day exception when a few inches fell.  But during a stretch of dry weather it will take more than a few inches to recharge the streams and brooks and rivers and groundwater levels.  That said, some spots always seem to have something to offer and this is one.

Dean-Brook-Waterfall-110715-700WebI was amazed to see that one oak leaf clinging to the rock’s face with the others hanging in the flow and happy that they were there to add some color to the scene.

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to 11.08.2015 Murphy Falls

  1. Give me that oak leaf that’s vertically tenacious on the dark rock.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Just Rod says:

    Beautiful image, lovely name.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim in IA says:

    What a nice place. I can see why you would return. Good choice.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jackson says:

    I love the terraces and multiple directions of flow in this one!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jonacua says:

    Beautiful photo!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think the Murphy Falls is a fitting name. That one leaf is Murphy telling you, “I’m still here and hanging around in un-expected places.”

    Liked by 3 people

  7. I love Yvonne’s thought on the oak leaf.

    When my brother died, I found a place in nature, as well. It soothed me, though nothing erases our grief, I do believe that nature is a healer just by being. This is a fantastic capture. You couldn’t have planned it better with that one amazing oak leaf, which looks a bit like a wave, “hello!” and then of course the other pops of gold of the other leaves against the dark rocks and white water. Beautiful.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I felt really lucky to see that leaf clinging there. Just as amazing to me were the others in the upper left corner. How could they remain with all that water flowing over them?

      Like you, I always find solace in nature. I can understand how escape is possible in a busy city or some other environment, but nature’s peace is more what’s appropriate for some and we are amongst those. Escape isn’t always the answer…sometimes contemplation of life works better.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Incredible composition. Full of movement yet with still leaves when normally it’s the other way around – it plays with my brain a bit – Memorable.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. shoreacres says:

    When I saw the title, I was sure it was named after your Murphy. It’s a beautiful place and, from the looks of that oak leaf, a bit magical, too. It seems impossible for that leaf to be stationary on the rock. It looks to me like you caught it in mid-leap: a token of fall falling over the falls. I’ll say it again: magical.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Linda. I have no idea how that leaf came to that spot and stuck there. It had to be in motion and what could have possibly caught and held it? Must be magic. Same with the others up top. I am sure there is a scientific explanation, but that would ruin the spell, wouldn’t it? 🙂
      We will most likely adopt another dog, quite likely a rescue beagle, but I’ll always have Murphy here in this falls and in my heart.

      Like

  10. Gorgeous image, and the name seems to be really appropriate.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Gallivanta says:

    Lovely to have this special place for Murphy. Did Murphy visit here with you?

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Lyle Krahn says:

    A classic Gingold photo! A gorgeous image.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Andrew says:

    What a great place to honour Murphy. It’s a beautiful spot and I’m sure happy memories will always be found there.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Thanks for all the warm comments everybody.

    Like

Leave a Reply

