11.02.2015 The cascade that started it all

The “all” being yesterday’s post.

Often photographers will “shoot their way” through a scene.  Ideally, one works your way  through by examining the location and deciding where the best composition lies.  Other times we start where we can start (Thanks, Linda!) and go from there.  In this case, I waded out into the water and made this image of the cascade in the Middle Branch of the Swift River within the Quabbin Watershed.  From here, I moved to the side and closer for what you saw in yesterday’s post.  I also shoot insects in this way, although the chance of the cascade flying away as I approach closer and closer is a little bit less likely.

Gate-30-cascade-110115-700WebWhile making this image, I felt my left foot getting cold.  Odd I thought.  Then I realized it was cold water in my boot.  The overshoe was taking in water and I could feel it rising up inside my boot.  I thought the seams were leaking as an earlier pair had done, but it turned out that I somehow had torn the fabric above the sole/upper seam at the heel and will have to patch it.  Made for a squooshy hike back to the car afterwards.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Uncategorized, Water, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 11.02.2015 The cascade that started it all

  1. Good luck patching your boot. My last attempt failed because the left boot developed a crack rather than a puncture, and I had to buy a new pair.

    Like

    • They recommended Aquaseal which I happen to have. I’ll give that a try. No idea how I punctured it…must have bee a sharp rock or maybe there was some broken glass in the water.

      Like

      • When I had an earlier puncture in the first pair of rubber boots, a bicycle tire patch and rubber cement worked fine, but I think your current boots aren’t rubber. Let us know if Aquaseal does the trick.

        Like

      • I had considered using a patch and some watertight epoxy or contact cement. After the Aquaseal I may do that as well. Of course, now my left foot will be a little heavier than the right. I already have balance issues. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim in IA says:

    I like the assortment of leaves arranged on the rock front right.

    Is there also a monster of some sort lying in wait just above the cascade above center. It seems there are teeth and eyes. I wouldn’t wade up there.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. squish, squish, squish! 🙂 It can get quite cold, I’ll bet. But still, what can be better than that? It gives us a wonderful view, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s exactly what it sounded like as I walked up the hill to my car. 🙂

      Quite often the best view requires some wading. Our friend David from Pairodox Farm did a lot of wading for his images. Hopefully we’ll hear from him again soon…they were relocating to New Hampshire.

      Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    Well, aren’t you sweet? Thanks for the thanks! Your mention of shooting your way through the scene reminded me for some reason of a friend’s boat: it was named Reshoot. He was a professional photographer, too, but he spent his time with cars. He lived aboard his boat in Gibraltar, and photographed autos around Europe. His collection of cameras was something else: all film, and some with names that even someone like me recognized — Leica, Hasselblad, and so on.

    The water does look a bit like a watery version of the clematis/old man’s beard. His expression suggests he might have slipped on the rocks, and is suffering some pain. See the grimace?

    Like Jim, I like the leaves along the edges. Even the rock in the middle has some leaves. It’s really a nice effect.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, if I am going to steal something another has written, I should at least give credit where it is due.
      That would be one of a few ideal scenarios to me…living on a boat or in a National Park etc just photographing all the time. I envy your friend.
      Yes, the way the water’s aeration turns white with the motion does look a bit beardy. Goes well with the notion of a monster or wizened older man.

      Like

  5. Love this capture, as well. Timeless, comes to mind. Of course being me, I see a face in the water. It looks sort of like a much better looking Abominable Snowman character in Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer.

    Along with the uncomfortable “squooshy” sensation, I can image your foot must have been freezing! I hope you manage to repair your boot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • To be honest, I never saw the face until it was mentioned by others. But I guess I should go with the flow.
      Cold it was. And it took all week for the boot to finally be thoroughly dry. It turned out that the product for repairing the hole was a tube of something I had already purchased to seal some seams. I’ll be testing the repair this weekend.
      Thanks, Intricate Knot.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Gallivanta says:

    The monster in the stream does seem to have sharp teeth. Perhaps one has to be grateful it only took a bite out of the boot. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

