11.01.2015 Quabbin Valley Autumn from Enfield Lookout

Continuing the tour of favorite places, here’s two ladder’s eye views of the valley.  I did remember my ladder this time and got the trees separated, mostly, from the opposite shoreline.  In the distance is Mount Monadnock well lit by the sunrise while closer the upper level of the valley is just getting some early light.

Enfield-Lookout-1-103115-700Web

Although cold once again, there was still a slight haze as you can see in the distance.

A wider view with Mounts Ram and Pomeroy along with the tip of Prescott Peninsula is leading us toward Mount Monadnock. Three counties (Hampshire, Worcester and Franklin) are represented as well as New Hampshire.

Enfield-Lookout-2-103115-700WebEventually the sun rose high enough to light up the whole of the scene, but I chose to not have the closer treetops distracting by being brightly lit, so made no more images.

Once again, I would like to say thank you to all who take the time to visit and comment or click the like button.  While I enjoy sharing these images, it is quite gratifying to know that others are enjoying them too.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Landscape, Mountains, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to 11.01.2015 Quabbin Valley Autumn from Enfield Lookout

  1. BuntyMcC says:

    Gorgeous. And this was taken in late October? Perhaps I should make my annual trek (from PEI) to NE Pennsylvania in October next year. Last year we overnighted in Brattleboro, drove down 91 and then west on 90. I enjoy all your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The mountains/hills are so beautiful with the sun striking various areas of your scene. The Fall colors are still beautiful. I like this photo very much. I know you went to a lot of effort if you had to carry a ladder to get the view that you wanted.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am glad that you like the effect of spotty color/light, Yvonne. I think, at least in this instance, that it is more interesting than the hills being completely lit.
      A sheepish admission…it wasn’t much effort. I was probably no more than twenty feet from the car. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lottie Nevin says:

    These are breathtakingly beautiful. The autumn colours are gorgeous. I’m most impressed at the lengths that you went to take them. Maybe someone could invent adjustable stilts especially for photographers? Steve, my sincere apologies for not visiting your site more often. Life is extraordinarily busy here and I’m tied up with a load of different projects which sadly leaves little time for blogs and blogging. I hope that you are both keeping well.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks, Lottie. There is no need for an apology. We all have busy lives and blogging is not the most important thing for sure. As I just mentioned to Yvonne, it wasn’t too far and the ladder Isn’t very heavy. That said, under the right circumstance (note the singular) it might accompany me on a hike at some point…a short one to be sure. 🙂

      Like

  4. With regard to the crafter of these two images, anyone watching would have seen the former and the ladder.

    There’s an Enfield Rd. in Austin but it doesn’t offer views like these. If only it did.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The former on the ladder. I guess with your recent weather there is the possibility that Enfield Road gets flooded just like the Town of Enfield did to make this reservoir.

      Like

      • Enfield Rd. runs through a wealthy part of Austin, so I don’t think the residents would take kindly to a flood.

        Like

      • I hope they all live in houses on a hill then. Flood waters don’t concern themselves with wealth. More to your point, much that is undesirable is usually foisted upon the lower income or poor neighborhoods. I can’t imagine the wealthier among us will ever have to worry about such things.

        Like

      • Actually some expensive properties got destroyed in the wildfires of 2011, including the home of someone I know. She was insured but still hasn’t rebuilt. As you say, fire is no respecter of wealth.

        Like

  5. Oh, absolutely, Steve. I look forward to your posts, always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Andrew says:

    I prefer the 2nd image. I think it glows beautifully and the perspective is excellent. I would never think of carrying a ladder.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Gorgeous autumn shots, loved the background information that makes your posts so special.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jim in IA says:

    Thanks for your presentations. Earth is a marvelous place.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. shoreacres says:

    It just occurred to me that you’re probably among the people who are very happy about the time change. Despite the shorter days, the light’s been added to the part of the day you most enjoy, and it’s probably going to make it more convenient for you to get out and about for photos like this.

    The first photo’s my favorite of the pair. I prefer the balance between the water and the land, and the shadows are lovely. Given the gray skies, low light, brown water, and drizzle that we have, your photos are a delight. The autumn hills are beautiful, but that blue water — oh, my.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Absolutely, you got that right, Linda. I am very pleased to have more morning to work with although the number of hours is somewhat the same. But the sun gradually traveling lower in the sky does extend the warm light a little longer.
      The shadowplay was part of what I was trying to convey in the images. I suppose monochrome would have emphasized that a little more, but then what about the colors? I am not sure which I prefer, but the use of the telephoto effect to draw Monadnock closer and highlight its illumination pleases me a bit more.

      Like

  10. Gallivanta says:

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. And how intriguing that a ladder is one of your ‘tools’.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Gallivanta. (I noticed a few people using your actual name in the comments to your last post. Is it OK to use that also?)
      When I drove a minivan years ago, I would get on top of the van and sometimes put a ladder up there too. To get an idea of what made me think to do that…https://sggphoto.files.wordpress.com/2015/06/27journeys600.jpg
      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Gallivanta says:

        Ah, such a sensible, practical idea. I answer to many names. The one favoured by the WordPress community seems to be Anne. It is one of my names but not one which gets much use in my real life. I like seeing it get some fresh air on WordPress. You are most welcome to use it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks, Anne. There is probably no sensible reason as people should be able to call themselves what they wish…and there are also worries about being identified by strangers…but I am always more comfortable calling people by their “real” name. Since it isn’t used much in your daily life, I guess that there is yet more to you than meets the virtual eye. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Gallivanta says:

        More names, that’s for sure. My mother blessed me with many. She didn’t foresee the age of digital forms! But as society seems to be returning to digital (as in finger) prints (and eye scans) for identification, perhaps many names will cease to be a problem.

        Like

      • I am sure we all…well those who follow us…will probably be issued bar-codes at birth and names will become a thing from time out of mind.
        Wow, three names is kind of average…at least in our western cultures. More than that is impressive. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

