10.31.2015 Holyoke Range Foliage

As you may have guessed, I love this spot and try to find something new to share.  Yesterday I tried to get an image of the majority of the Holyoke Range.  Long Mountain and Rattlesnake Knob didn’t quite make it into the frame and there is Mount Nonotuck (Ha!…spellcheck wanted to make this “Non-stick”) and a bit more to the west across the Connecticut River, but from this spot it’s a pretty good look.

Please click the image to see larger.

Holyoke-Range-from-Mount-Pollux-103015-700WebAnd, as always, I wanted to highlight Norwottuck.

Norwottuck-from-Mount-Pollux-103015-700WebI am not sure how much autumn color we have left, but I’ll be out there again looking for more.  I did find some at Enfield Lookout this morning so will share that tomorrow.  Right now the camera is getting re-acclimated to warmth after this morning’s 24° chill.

I may have mentioned this before, and possibly you can tell by the sun’s angle, but the Holyoke Mountain Range is one of the rare east-west oriented mountain ranges.  It also hosts part of the Appalachian Mountain Club managed Metacomet-Monadnock Trail as well as The New England Trail.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Amherst, Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Landscape, Mountains, Nature Photography, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 10.31.2015 Holyoke Range Foliage

  1. New England has a wealth of colorful scenes and you continue to find the best for your followers, viewers, commenters and, lurkers. The wide angle of number one is a “fallish” view but the second photo is stupendous with the flaming leaves of the tree on the right,

    But you are already into winter with 24 degrees. That temp is what we consider to be really cold here. I think maybe it’ been down to around 45 degrees a couple or more times but the day warms up pretty fast. We’ve had some torrential rains- last week and again yesterday and last night. Right now the sun is out and I hope the rain is gone.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jim in IA says:

    That embiggened first image was worth the click. Nice colors and sun angle. We missed much of the color here by being in Cuba last week. I don’t mind. Once we got back, it rained almost 2″, then got windy and blew any color off the trees. There aren’t many leaves left now. Today is another rainy one. But, the next few will be beauties.

    Keep the camera dry.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Windy rain here, too, knocking off the leaves. My oak is still pretty glorious though. Like Jim, I found both images click-worthy! I really am taken with the tree.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That first photograph is a great fall foliage panorama, of course, made even better by that wide and upward-curving arc of ground across the entire image.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. I really appreciated the hiking trail links, I am always looking for great new destinations.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    The panorama is splendid. The clouds are an especially nice touch. it’s remarkable how they mimic the color of the hills: dark, and yet not at all threatening. The smooth arc of the grass looks rather like a bowl’s edge — it’s as though you’ve served us up autumn as a delicious dish.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I had hoped that the clouds would have been a little brighter but the sun was dealing with its own clouds and that left them in shadows so to speak. But I am glad that you like the shadowy tonality. It’s nice to have that contrast.

      Like

  7. Gorgeous. These colors are amazing. I love both images, but I could lose myself in the panoramic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Despite the return of autumn color every year, I never tire of it (not many if any do). It seemed as though the color wasn’t going to ever fully develop but it has although definitely spotty. If only it lasted through the winter…that season would be so much better. 🙂
      Thanks, I am glad you enjoyed these, IK.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Andrew says:

    24 degrees? Wow. That’s grim. But the colours are worth it Steve. The pano is especially impressive. I am envious.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The long-term forecast calls for grimmer, Andrew. In preparation for the cold season, I just put the snowblower into the garage and exchanged rakes for shovels.
      It is one of my favorite views to be sure and cold fingers is a small price to pay.

      Like

Leave a Reply

