10.25.2015 Mount Pollux Finale

As far as 10/24 goes, this is it.  I think.

After yesterday’s post, I walked up the hill to the two maples that have dominated that spot for many years.  Near the crest, so to speak as it’s not very high, I noticed a lot of pumpkins had been placed in various spots.  As I looked around for the composition I was after (I was hoping to reshoot one from a few years back) I saw this cute little pile of Jack o’ Lanterns that someone had arranged.  How could I resist?

Mount-Pollux-pumpkins-102415-700WebThis image serves a two-fold purpose.  It stands on its own but also as a lead in to the next.

Notice the condition of the further maple.  It is not in good health and who knows how well it will stand up to the winter’s load of snow and strong winds.  If not this one coming then some time in the future the limbs will fail.  The small maple to its right and also on the right in the next image has been, I believe, planted to replace the elder at some time.

Mount-Pollux-Foliage-with-Norwottuck-102415-700WebIn the above image you can see support posts around the younger tree.  Aside from that little bit of sad observation, This is something I had been hoping to redo as my previous attempt was not as satisfying in retrospect.  One big difference was getting down.  🙂

Something I try to do, which I failed before, is to avoid overlaps in key elements of an image.  In this case it is the central middle distant tree not contacting the closer tree as well as keeping a clear line on Mount Norwottuck in the far distance.  A plus is giving the foreground tree some evidence of height.  As well, I am pleased with the top of Norwottuck getting a little illumination to help it glow.  The one negative, for me, is the support posts, but if I wait for them to be gone then so might the big tree.  I could remove them digitally, but they are a part of the present landscape and doing so would be egregious in my opinion.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Amherst, Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Landscape, Nature Photography, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 10.25.2015 Mount Pollux Finale

  1. I really enjoyed your narrative about the composition of your photo/s. And the little jack-o-lantern pile really is quite irresistible. These scenes remind me of the rich fall colors of the many maple trees we had in our yard in New York. I must say, despite loving south Florida, I do miss that ;(

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am glad you liked the bit about composition. I often don’t have much to say and search for words, but telling the story of making this image was enjoyable. The pumpkins took me by surprise as I could not see them as I climbed the hill and only saw them while walking around to compose the last shot.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Gorgeous colors, and such amazing light in your images. I love the pumpkins in your first photo, they appear to be enjoying the fall day.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. tomwhelan says:

    I really like the second one – the light through the leaves is beautiful, nevermind the support post…

    Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    The support posts are rather like tree training wheels. One of these days, they won’t be needed. I hope the big tree lasts long enough to see that.

    The way each of the trees is tipped with orange is lovely. I like combinations of reds, yellows, and oranges, but the similarity of colors on all these trees — and atop Mount Norwottuck — holds the photo together very nicely. I can easily imagine it as a painting: perhaps in the style of the Hudson School.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Being compared to the Hudson School is high praise indeed and much appreciated, Linda.
      I was pretty happy when my visualized image came into being. Although I knew the foliage was good and the light would be also, there are no guarantees and clouds were building ahead of what little rain we did get.
      I like the training wheels/support post relationship.

      Like

  5. How about a compromise: you could color the white support post to make it as inconspicuous as the darker posts to its right.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Gallivanta says:

    How beautiful. I am amused though by the pumpkins. Is this perhaps the Halloween pumpkin equivalent of yarn bombing?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ha, yeah, pumpkin bombing! 🙂 I’m so glad you didn’t resist them. And the support posts are good because they point to what is, rather than what we might think should be.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is true…we have an opinion of what nature should be..pristine and untrammeled etc.but it often is not so. That said, I’d rather not have an angular post distracting from what the picture is intended to represent.
      Ummm…I don’t know about your neighborhood, but pumpkin bombing usually means a mess to clean up on November 1st. 🙂

      Like

  8. Both photos are stunning in those magnificent colors which present the presence of Fall. I think the second one do well as a framed print.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

