10.22.2015 Down n dirty with a wood turtle

The face of an angel.  🙂

Wood-Turtle-061008-700WebYou never know…could be true.

This is another from the Wayback Machine…June 2008 in Northern Maine.  I was just as low as the turtle although with 420mm between us.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Animal Behavior, Fauna, Maine, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to 10.22.2015 Down n dirty with a wood turtle

  1. Just Rod says:

    I’m really surprised this is classified ss a turtle. It seems to have a domed shell and tortoise style legs and feet

    Lovely shot.

    Get Down….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Inger says:

    What a beauty! Love this capture, he (or she?) is a cutie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Inger. I received a comment from a more knowledgeable someone elsewhere (FB) that males are closer to reddish and females yellow so this could well be a she and possibly got the gravel on top as a result of egg laying.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A handsome specimen here and I like seeing something live for a change.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Getting down’s the way to do it, that’s for sure. Forget the bird’s-eye view in a case like this.

    I’m wondering how you can know so precisely that 420mm lay between the turtle and you (or your camera).

    Liked by 2 people

  5. krikitarts says:

    I, too, love to get down for portraits like this. Good one, Steve!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think getting down with something has come back around…didn’t the beat generation say that too? I seem to remember hearing it in old movies.
    Love the turtle~the face of an angel for sure. I just recently painted a Blandings turtle in the same pose, from the same angle. They look domed, too, from that angle.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I used to be very happy getting down with things in all respects. Now it is more a matter of attitude than physical. I still do get on my knees or lie down, but it takes a lot longer to get back on my feet. Getting old…all we heard it was and more. 🙂

      Turtles all seem to have the same expression. I wonder if it looks that way to each other or if there are moods and expressions they see that we…or at least I…don’t see.

      Like

  7. shoreacres says:

    I can’t believe no one mentioned the song that’s so appropriate for this post: “Jungle Boogie,” by Kool and the Gang. Even the refrain fits: “Get down, get down…”

    The turtle’s wonderful. they always seem so intent. This one seems a little irritated, but that may just be the standard turtle face.

    And here’s the scoop on the goldenrod. It’s Solidago sempervirens L., aka Seaside goldenrod or salt marsh goldenrod, and it shows up in Massachusetts and Maine, as well as Texas and places in between. I left an extensive comment with links over at Steve’s, on the snailseed post. He’ll have to moderate it because of the multiple links.

    I did do a quick scan of articles from your area, and found this:

    “We collected Solidago sempervirens seeds from nine sites during November and December 1999. Two sites (A, B) were typical coastal populations (southern coast and Cape Cod, Mass.); three (C–E) were collected along Interstate 84 in central Massachusetts, central Connecticut, and eastern New York; and four populations (F–I) were collected in the vicinity
    of Watkins Glen in west-central New York (fig. 1).”

    And, from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, there’s this little note: the plant is a”native perennial, reproducing from seed.”

    Good enough for me!

    Like

    • shoreacres says:

      Of course, as I just realized, that’s still ambiguous. “Seed” could well be those little airborne thingies, as well as those berry-like fruits. Disregard all conclusions for the time being. I’m going to wait until the rain passes, and then try to find that stand of plants again and get some better photos. 🙂

      Like

    • I mentioned to Steve that I will be looking for S. sempervirens next year. It’s good to know that I don’t have to travel to the ocean to look…OTOH, going to Cape Cod sounds better than hanging out by Highway 84.
      WOW, I forgot those threads (I do remember the song, though)…never had any like that myself, I am sorry to say. Always a jeans and flannel kind of guy.
      From the few up close and personals with turtles, that is the basic turtle grimace, I think…um, unless we want to count these two.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. There are angels everywhere. Or faeries. Depends on which you believe in. I believe in both. Why not?

    I adore turtles. This one’s face is priceless, which would not have been captured in all it’s most excellent-ness (it’s so awesome, I’m making up words), if you hadn’t got “down-n-dirty” with him (her?). Highly cool.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Unfortunately, I am not much of a believer in things I’ve never seen or experienced, or knew someone who had seen or experienced, or read about it, saw a movie about it, heard a song about it…the list goes on. Basically, I think I just resist committing myself to believe in things I don’t understand. So the angel I was referring to was more like the one I am married to, or you or any other lovely person I am acquainted with on some level. 🙂
      Actually, excellentness is a real word and I appreciate your use of it. I fall in love with almost any creature I spend enough time photographing that we get on some level of familiarity. Turtles, frogs, birds, squirrels, moose…probably not fishers though. As hard as it is getting to be for me to get up after getting down, I’d gladly do it again for some time with a turtle.

      Liked by 1 person

      • When I say I believe in angels and faeries, I mean it in the same sense as yourself. I have friends who are angels, and my husband is often an angel (and quite often the other, as well). I’ve met strangers who have the qualities of faeries (sadly, without pointy ears and sparkly wings).

        I perceive your turtle as an angel, too. And I think you must have a bit of angel in you, based on the fact that you fall in love with the creatures you photograph.

        Something we can completely agree upon is finding it a challenge to get back up after lying on the ground or getting in and out of some of those uncomfortable positions we take when composing a shot…grrrr….

        Liked by 1 person

      • I am sure that I am like your husband..it is the rare person who does not have a little of both in them. And like you, straightening out from an awkward position is a challenge for me as well causing me to assume the posture of a question mark for a few minutes.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Lyle Krahn says:

    Lots to love in that photo. I like it a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

