10.18.2015 The long and the short of it

Exposure-wise, that is.  These are not exactly identical as they were shot a few minutes apart and the light was changing frequently on a partly cloudy morning.  The sun was peeking in and out between clouds which made for some interesting lighting along the shoreline of the Quabbin about a half hour after the dawn image I posted yesterday.

So there are two exposures here.  The first was just with the polarizer and was 1/15 second.

Morton-Pond-Foliage-Quabbin-1-101815-700Web

The second was shot at 4 seconds with a 6 stop neutral density filter in front of the polarizer.

Morton-Pond-Foliage-Quabbin-2-101815-700WebI recently learned that this location, just in front of Goodnough Dike, was formerly a pond-Morton Pond- prior to the flooding of the valley.  No longer will I call it Foliage Cove.

And, BTW, yet another repeat location.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Lepidoptera, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 10.18.2015 The long and the short of it

  1. Each has its merits for sure. I love the crispness of the first image and the glassiness of the second. Very cool.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim in IA says:

    The 4 sec one makes the clouds blurred so they look very different from the wispy ones at the top. Nice effects.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Inger says:

    Such lovely fall colours! I like them both, but for some reason the first appeal most to me😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like the first one the best. Colors vibrant and and overall a beautiful scene. The contrasting sky makes the trees stand apart. Lovely vista.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was very happy to have the clouds and sun playing nicely with each other. The somewhat dramatic light on the distant foliage was an effect I had hoped for similar to storm clouds backing up sunlit trees. The low sun hitting the foliage in the foreground really does raise the vibrancy. Thanks, Yvonne.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. If the two images were made with your lens at the same focal length (and preferably the same aperture as well for equal depth of field), have you tried putting one as a layer in front of the other and setting the opacity of the one in front to 50%? I’m curious how that merger would look.

    Like

  6. The Fall colors are gorgeous. I like both images. I’d go back to this location again, and again.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. shoreacres says:

    I do prefer the first, because of the obvious wind gust on the water, the sharper ripples, and the more dramatic clouds. Both are lovely, though, and certainly do a fine job of presenting the autumn colors. They do seem a little muted in the second photo. I suppose that’s the result of the added filter.

    Liked by 1 person

    • 🙂 When I screwed on the filter I thought, Linda’s going to like the unfiltered shot better. Seriously…I did.
      The difference in colors could be a couple of things…the light changed a tad in general, the light changed a tad during those few seconds as the clouds and sun were playing hide and seek, the filter does alter the way the colors are captured although usually more intensely.
      I only used a 6-stop ND so some sense of movement although soft would be evident which I think is the case despite the surface softness.

      Like

  8. Pingback: 12.08.2015 Lovely Gray Morning | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

