10.05.2015 After a bit of a wait, fall color has arrived

It’s still a little behind schedule, but color is now looking good in the wetlands where it usually makes its debut.  The hills and valleys should not be a very long wait.

I’ve shot at Harvard Pond often, but this was my first time walking in the area between the two more visited vantage points that look east or west.  I wanted to capture the island with the sunrise lit colorful trees to the west as a background.  Although the lily pads are in large supply, I think they add to the reflection rather than distract.  Might be just me.

Harvard-Pond-100415-700WebOnce again I’ve fallen behind in my replies.  I’ll catch up later on as I am working today…a rare Monday but I’ll get Friday off making this a four-day weekend, Columbus Day Weekend, and it should be wildly colorful.  Plenty of cool nights in the forecast.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Landscape, Nature Photography, Sunrise and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 10.05.2015 After a bit of a wait, fall color has arrived

  1. Gallivanta says:

    A feast for my eyes! Does Harvard Pond freeze over?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Woo hoo: happy fall color to you.

    Have you ever gone out there in a boat to get perspectives not available from land?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lottie Nevin says:

    Stunning. I do envy you being surrounded by the wonderful autumnal colours of your ‘hood. Olive trees are great but no competition when it comes to colour. The reflection of the trees on the water is the icing on the cake. Great stuff, Steve 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Lottie! It’s a great advantage of living in the northeast for sure.Thanks. I hope you will share some olive tree foliage as I have no idea what an olive tree looks like in autumn.

      Like

  4. Lyle Krahn says:

    Wonderful colour and reflections. Surprisingly, you aren’t that far behind us in colour. The leaves are in full colour here.

    Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    I’m so happy to see this. It’s not just that it’s beautiful (which it is) but it’s also that a friend is traveling in your area for a couple of weeks with a cousin from Boston. She’s from Calgary, and never had seen such autumn color. I think she’s going to be a happy traveler.

    I think the lily pads add a nice touch. It’s amazing how much they resemble a skim of ice on the water. Thank goodness it isn’t — it’s way too soon for that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your friend should be treated to a lot of color. Depending on where she is traveling the color may vary as it is probably going full out in the northern mountainous region but just approaching peak in the middle areas and starting in the CT and RI areas. I wish I were in a position to follow it through the different location right down into NC.
      No…much too early for ice. Northern New England has seen a few frosts, but our pumpkins are not ready for that.

      Like

  6. Gorgeous fall color, I love the reflection you captured in the water.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

