09.21.2015 Scanography – Sycamore Maple Leaf

This is a post in reply to a short conversation I had with Steve Schwartzman on his blog a few days ago.

Quite a few folks use a scanner as a camera, there are even scanner backs for cameras.  Rather than pressing this leaf in my large dictionary, I decided to press it under the scanner cover and see what it looked like.  Not too bad for a non-dedicated tool.  This was back in 2007 and I bet the newer scanners could get even more detail right into the stomata.

Sycamore-Maple-leaf-scanned-700Web

Sycamore-Maple-leaf-scanned-crop-700WebMaybe I’ll try a little more this year…providing we actually see some nice color.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 09.21.2015 Scanography – Sycamore Maple Leaf

  1. Radhika says:

    Wow! Looks amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. More, please! That is so cool.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim in IA says:

    I use my scanner to import 35 mm slides. I need to try this.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Do you recall at how many dpi you scanned the leaf? I checked my Canoscan 9000F and found that for opaque objects I can set the resolution only as high as 600 dpi.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My ancient Epson Expression 1600 allows for 4000 dpi which was the original resolution before I trimmed it down to 72 ppi for the web. I am a bit technologically challenged, so I am not sure if the resolution is lessened by cropping down from the 8.5×11 glass before the final scan, but the resolution in the Photoshop file said 4000 so I guess not.

      Like

  5. I don’t know squat about camera scanners but number one is IMPRESSIVE.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. krikitarts says:

    This is a wonderful idea, and I’m grateful that you’ve brought it to us. I’m a great fan of leaf portraits in general and sycamores in particular, but I hadn’t thought of putting them directly into the scanner. This is worthy of further attention soon, especially with autumn only two days away…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. shoreacres says:

    One of my friends, Judy Lovell, introduced me to the concept of scanning some time ago. I can’t find our discussion about the artist who impressed her, but I remember the work was astonishing. I thought Katinka’s comments about technology and vision were intriguing, too.

    I think that first image of the leaf is fabulous. It’s in the tradition of pressing a leaf between two sheets of waxed paper with an iron, but taken to a whole new level.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I thought about that comparison as we still have leaves pressed between the pages of our old Webster’s Third New International Dictionary of the English Language which my mother, who used to work there, gave me as a birthday present. For a while they would publish updates, with titles like 2500 words, and they would be annual presents too. I don’t think they do that any longer. There is the internet after all and Webster’s has a presence.

      Like

  8. Love the detail and the gorgeous colors in your image; such enjoyable photos.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

