09.20.2015 Nothing new, so something old

Just kinda, a little, but not very old.  I had a total lack of motivation this morning.  Wandered around a bit, but then decided it was OK to take a day off.  Besides, today was seal the driveway day after spending parts of the last week crack-filling and cleaning in preparation.  I’d never sealed a driveway before, but this is the only property we have owned so there hasn’t been much opportunity.  Mary Beth might dispute that as she has been suggesting I do this for the last 20 years.  Don’t worry honey, I said, I’ll get to it.  🙂

So on a different “old” note, here is an image from 9/12 shot along the Norwottuck Railtrail and Poor Farm Swamp here in Amherst.  The tree has been photographed often, both by me and several other local photographers.  There is always the question of whether frequently shot scenes should continue to get photographed.  I’m on the fence although I do like to revisit locations…I may have mentioned that previously 1 or a dozen times.

Poor-Farm-Swamp-Tree-091215-700WebUnless I find an interesting bug or flower in the yard in the next few days, I won’t be adding any newly acquired images for a while as we go to Acadia at the end of the week. I don’t have a laptop, so image processing will have to wait until I get home with the exception of an iPhone addition.  That’s not to say I won’t post more oldies.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Amherst, Black and White, Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 09.20.2015 Nothing new, so something old

  1. Glad you took time out from the driveway to post this – a wonderful composition with beautiful lines. For the benefit of your followers, I am glad to hear you will be posting ‘old’ images while you’re away. Enjoy Acadia!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eerie and ethereal. Get the drive done, Steve. 🙂 And what do you seal it with?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. krikitarts says:

    That old tree has so much character–it’s a real beauty. How much of a hike is it to reach this vantage point?

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a very popular tree, Gary. And the “hike” isn’t really much of one…only about a ten minute slow hike while looking for other subjects and 5 minutes with determination on an asphalt railtrail. 🙂

      Like

  4. Jim in IA says:

    Should frequently shot scenes continue to be photographed? I say yes. Why not? They change from time to time. Sometimes in small ways. Sometimes in big ways.

    There is a tree in Mark Hirsch’s life that got photographed every day.
    https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.241617925947954.47045.241588422617571&type=3

    I like that gnarly old tree.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. BeeHappee says:

    Oh, I love that picture! Goes really well with the cracks in the driveway theme, since it looks I am sure a lot like the driveway. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. After years of photographing in one region, many of our subjects become familiar ones, whether in general, like a certain species of wildflower, or specifically, like the individual tree in your post. Nevertheless, with insight and luck, we often still find new ways to portray those subjects, so I’d say the attempts are worthwhile.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. shoreacres says:

    Anyone can produce novelty. It takes patience and loving attentiveness to discern the new.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Plus, your’s are the ones I’ll likely see, and this one is just wonderful. Have a great trip!
    I’ll bet I could postpone the driveway for waayyy longer than that! If you wait long enough it will return to gravel 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

