09.19.2015 A little of the old and a little of the new

I just went out not expecting much this morning.  As I walked in Quabbin Park, I came across some more Fern-leaved False Foxgloves (Aureolaria pedicularia).  Naturally, as a creature of habit, my first impulse was a closeup made with the 180 and a softish background.

Fern-leaved-False-Foxglove-2-091915-700Web

Then I remembered the 15mm macro and went to work.  It’s a little different exercise in composition as the wide angle includes a lot of identifiable background.  How much to have recognizably sharp (rather it should be sharpish as opposed to softish) is one decision and another is how close do I want to be.  With that much coverage it was as close as possible which was 5 or 6 inches.  I believe I could have been much closer, but I didn’t want the top of the plant to be in the bright sky or touching the top of the frame.  Just my second effort so still lots to go before approaching proficiency.

Fern-leaved-False-Foxglove-1-091915-700WebThe wide angle pushes the background into the distance so the trees are not as far way as they appear to be.  This lens is going to be a lot of fun to use.

 

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, macro photography, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 09.19.2015 A little of the old and a little of the new

  1. These flowers look so much (except for color) like the Agalinis that we have in Austin that I went looking for more information. I found that Aureolaria is in a botanical family I’m not familiar with, Orobanchaceae. Then I discovered that Agalinis has recently been moved to that family as well, so the resemblance between the genera is real.

    I’m glad to see you’re having fun with your new lens.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim in IA says:

    Do you think you could get the 15 mm close enough to appear like the first photo? It would be an interesting comparison, I think.

    I like the pink nose on the buds.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think it could do that given the coverage (even touching the plant with the lens might still include most of the plant’s height), but I’ll be experimenting and will try a tube.
      I believe I am more fond of the buds than the blooms too.

      Like

  3. First photo is beautiful and the second one I like very much since it shows the general habitat where the plant is found. Very nice, Steve.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. krikitarts says:

    That lens sounds like great fun, and I’m looking forward to seeing more of what you can do with it. I’m curious to know how it would work with extension tubes. Do you ever use them?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jim asked that above and I do use extension tubes. I have yet to try them with this lens. I think for them to be effective and useful, I’d have to be within an inch or two and am not sure how that would work with distortion given the lens’ wide coverage, but I’ll be giving it a try.

      Like

  5. Love the gorgeous detail and the softened color in the first image, and I really appreciate the composition in the second…Such great photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Andrew says:

    That’s a great lens to add to your range Steve. The composition is excellent and if anything I prefer it to the close up.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Just Rod says:

    two complementary images Steve. That’s why you have those interchangeable lenses! Would make a nice hanging pair.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. shoreacres says:

    There’s something about that second photo that startled me. I don’t know quite how to describe it — it feels as though the flower has been superimposed on the background. Maybe that’s because the woods is so much darker, relative to the flower, or because, as you say, it’s been pushed into the distance. I like it — it just surprised me. I thought, “That’s flower’s been on steroids!” It seems so much stronger than in the first photo.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can understand your immediate reaction…it is a little “in your face” and also a bit from the perspective of a smaller creature than one a human would expect. I also can take some of the credit…or should I say blame?…for your response as I reduced the contrast in the shadows to allow the flower to project even more.

      Like

  9. Someone that I know in Austin brought the 15mm macro lens to a photography meeting last night. After I steered him to this post of yours, he e-mailed that he’s subscribed to your blog. Are you planning to show more pictures that you’ve taken with this unusual lens?

    Like

Leave a Reply

