09.14.2015 Sure, why not…Monday ‘shroom

Well, I am sitting here in relative panic mode.  I just boxed up and UPSed off my 5D Mark II to Canon for a clean and check.  There are a few spots on the sensor that my Sensor Swabs cannot remove.  It’s been a few years so off it went in advance of foliage season.  I do have the 40D in the interim, but I’ve only been using that for the insect shots I’ve posted.  If all goes well, Steve Extended will be back for this weekend.

Before all that, I visited Hawley Bog in hopes of finding some rich red pitcher plants.  I am not convinced the shots are worth sharing…we’ll see.  On the way out, I photographed theses nice bright shiny orange mushroom.  They are, to the best of my knowledge, Orange Mycenas-Myceana leaiana.

Orange-Mycena-1-091415-700While I was at it, I decided these were a good subject to try out my new 15mm macro lens. Seriously…it’s the Venus Optics Loawa 15mm wide angle macro.  It can focus within a few inches and still include the surrounds to give a feel for the habitat.

Orange-Mycena-2-091415-700It’s going to take some practice and is entirely manually operated.

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Fungi, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 09.14.2015 Sure, why not…Monday ‘shroom

  1. That is amazing~ the best of both worlds! I think the maiden shot with it is wonderful. Shrooms are so fun to look at.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim in IA says:

    That is a vibrant orange.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Andrew says:

    What an interesting idea. An ultra WA macro. I love ‘shrooms but I find identifying them really tough. I am not familiar with the lens. Is it a B&H order Steve?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jackson says:

    I’m loving the mushroom photos! I’ll also be very curious to hear about the 15mm macro – news of that one has had me pretty intrigued.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. shoreacres says:

    “Beacon of color” is a perfect description. I’m especially fond of the first photo, where the glassy appearance of the mushrooms is most pronounced. They look like the sort of glass objets d’ sort-of-art that were so popular in the 1950s and 1960s.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think the first is my preferred image and what I am most used to doing. Up close and intimate. The other is a bit unpolished still, but on the way.
      We purchased a rooster that could be a metal objet d’ sort-of-art as a house present for some hosts once while in Maine. They declared it to be kitsch and there was no evidence of it anywhere upon our next visit. Oh well, we have its twin in our greenhouse window. One couple’s kitsch is another’s objet d’ interest. 🙂

      Like

  6. The rich, bold colors with the darker background makes such amazing images. I love the details in your shots.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You’re still the king of mushroom pictures among the photographers I’m familiar with.

    A 15mm macro: wow. No doubt you’ll have lots of fun with it. The fact that it’s a manual lens shouldn’t bother a photographer like you who got started when all cameras focused manually.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It helps to love your subject as you know, Steve. While I am not an avid mycophile, I do find mushrooms fascinating.
      I am figuring the operation out. The aperture is manual as well as the focus. The camera gets no information from the lens (until capture and display of the histogram) and the DOF preview button is relatively moot. I used a CP filter to cut the glare on the mushroom cap, but the angle is so wide that the filter ring vignettes. I may have to start carrying my handheld meter again.
      If you would like to read a review from someone who actually knows what he is doing, see the links I left for Andrew above.

      Like

Leave a Reply

