09.12.2015 Fog at Dawn

This is from the spot in New Salem that I often visit and have shared here numerous times.  Occasionally I will witness some view similar to past visits, but often there is something different to see and capture.  That was the case this morning.  I’ve photographed fog at dawn from this spot  several times (including last week), but this morning’s was a little more soft and pastel than at other times.

New-Salem-foggy-dawn-091215-700WebThe trees and shrubs here have grown taller and it is hard to get a clear view in any direction.  Last week I shared an image that required using the full 200 of my 70-200 to eliminate the trees.  Today required the 3oo and I might have included a bit more of the valley with the 70-200 again were it not for stray branches.  New Salem periodically cuts back the growth to renew the view and I am eagerly awaiting that day.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 09.12.2015 Fog at Dawn

  1. Andrew says:

    A beautifully smooth colour palette Steve. A lovely vantage point.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I recognize the view, Steve. The colors are nice~ all soft and harmonic.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. shoreacres says:

    I especially like the striations in the pink light. It looks like there’s a bit of wind, up above the fog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am not sure what was causing that, Linda. There may have been some upper air disturbance but things were pretty calm where I was. It’s about 30 or so miles away and there’s a mountain hidden in those clouds.

      Like

  4. I enjoy seeing so many layers in one photo. The colors are subtle and fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. krikitarts says:

    Places like this are worth visiting and re-visiting at any and every opportunity. The ever-changing light provides ever-new ones, and it’s a blessing to be able to take part in them. Lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Look at all those pleasant shades of pink and grey.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love the soft, subtle colors you captured in your image, really special.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

