08.03.15 Tree

Another tree (gray birch-Betula populifolia ) I’ve meant to shoot for a while and the ride through Quabbin Park on 8/24 seemed the right day.

Quabbin-Birch-082415-700Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 08.03.15 Tree

  1. The faint mist makes for a subtle and subdued forest landscape (and a vertical one at that).

    This marks another coincidence in our postings: I’ve presented a bush with grayish leaves and you’ve presented a gray birch. I found a lot of information about your species at the website of the Missouri Botanical Garden.

    Like

    • I usually do both for a landscape, but this definitely works better in portrait mode. More tree and less surrounds.
      We have some gray birches in the yard, but they are weak trees and bend over quite often. White birches seems a bit sturdier…black birches too.

      Like

  2. Oh wonderful, Steve! I love how the muted colors make the tree really feel a part of its surroundings. I’m not very coherent this morning~ I hope that made sense.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I tried to pull the tree out of the background while processing, but not too much which would have appeared unreal. But I do like the grayness of the tree along with the foggy background which is why I waited for so long before making the image. Just was in the right place at the right time on this one day. Thanks, Melissa.

      Like

  3. Jim in IA says:

    That looks like a good tree for climbing. We lived on the flattest of the flat farmland in IL. Climbing a tree, chicken house, or the barn opened up broad vistas reaching perhaps 3 miles on a clear day. 🌳

    Like

    • It very well could have been many years ago…I am not sure of the tree’s age but it seems older than I. Much of Quabbin was inhabited at one time, so there could have been some climbing here.

      Like

      • Jim in IA says:

        Venus is bright this morning in the east. I got the telescope out for a look. It was a thin crescent like a very old or new moon. Here is an example for a few days ago by another person. http://bit.ly/1Kv9Sf4

        I tried to hold my phone, then my small camera, up to the eyepiece for a photo. No luck. Neither could get a focus since I wasn’t stable enough.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. A beautifully shaped tree. I like the grayness of the birch which really makes the tree standout. A lovely scene, Steve.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. shoreacres says:

    Do these birches often take on such convoluted shapes? I grew up with paper birches (sometimes called white birch), and I’ve always thought of birch trees as tall and straight. I’ve never seen one like this. Whether it’s an anomaly or not, it’s wonderful. It makes me think of the many-armed Hindu goddess Durga.

    Like

    • I’ve not seen too many shaped this way, Linda. Most are relatively straight as you mention. Possibly it got its crown damaged early on or had a genetic freak-out.
      I hadn’t made the connection to Durga, but there is a resemblance.

      Like

Leave a Reply

