08.29.2015 Moody View 4-Foggy Norwottuck

I looked out the window at 4 this morning and was pretty sure I heard the sky say “No moon for you”.  Still, it made sense to go out and try to find some location without dense fog and there was one in a UMass parking lot, but those images will never see the light of day, so to speak.

I had initially gone to Mount Pollux to hopefully rise out of the fog and see the moon over the Holyokes, but not there either.  After the ride around I returned to Pollux to see if the fog had thinned and it did…slightly, but not enough for a moon shot.  This view of Norwottuck was appealing, in a moody view sort of way, so I made a few images with different trees in the picture and liked this one.

Mount-Norwottuck-in-fog-from-Mount-Pollux-082915-700WebThere won’t be fog to contend with this evening at moonrise/sunset although maybe shortly afterward.  I’ll give it another shot but haven’t decided the location quite yet.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Amherst, Black and White, Landscape, Mountains, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 08.29.2015 Moody View 4-Foggy Norwottuck

  1. Jim in IA says:

    I like this one, too. I like the moody series. It is going well. I am hopeful we will see some clearing later today. I might see the moon after all.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Andrew says:

    This is very atmospheric Steve. I can envision this with a blue tint to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. shoreacres says:

    I wish I could have given you our moon this morning. I was astonished how beautiful it was. Unfortunately, it’s setting over a resort and conference center now (at least from my window) and I wasn’t in a mood at 5:30 to go out chasing it. But it was pretty.It fairly glowed: big and golden.

    I’m quite taken with the artistry of the blue-tinted photo, but I really like the touch of quirkiness in the first. The bare-branched tree on the right looks for all the world like it’s popping up into that nice, sedate landscape and saying, “BOO!” Maybe all the Halloween stuff already in our stores is getting to me.

    Is that “No moon for you” by any chance a Seinfeld reference? It made me think of “No soup for you!”

    Liked by 1 person

    • I definitely preferred the one I posted first, Linda. I saw the dead tree…actually, most on this hill are dead with a few exceptions…and thought it would be a nice bit of foreground interest added to the distant view. Yeah, a resort wouldn’t be my first choice of compositions either, but OTOH they might pay for an image of the full moon over their structure for a brochure.
      This hill has a lot of Halloween potential with the vine covered dead trees. I hadn’t thought of that angle before, but will keep it in mind. I have shot a few moons with one of the trees ass a framing element but not moody enough to say “BOO!!!!”. 🙂

      Absolutely. I was channeling the Moon Nazi.
      For anyone unfamiliar….

      Like

      • shoreacres says:

        I have a friend who is a consummate woodworker. He does the most beautiful, complicated work on boats — he grew up in Michigan in a boat-building family. He has a fake business card that he gives to friends, and it’s another funny take on the soup nazi. It has his name and number, and then says, “The Yacht Nazi: Where the Customer is the Chump. I come when I want — you pay what I tell you.” Anyone who doesn’t understand how funny that is probably hasn’t run their own business.

        Like

      • That is funny considering real life is just the opposite for most anyway. He sounds talented enough to get away with it.

        Like

      • shoreacres says:

        He’s talented, all right — and smart enough never to give that card to anyone who would pass it on to a customer or potential customer.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a keeper in my book. I like the foggy and mystical scenes and this is great with the barren tree on the right side of the photo. I don’t care for the “Moody Blues” photo but, once upon a time a liked the group. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Yvonne. I processed this image for mystery and mood. Glad you like it. The bluish one is the first time I tried to “tone” an image, so not anything I’ve practiced much. Not sure you’ll see many more, but one never knows. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Phil Lanoue says:

    Super scene, love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love these foggy scenes. You posted this last year, but today it’s Halloween, so I’d expect to see the Headless Horseman riding by in that meadow.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

