08.24.2015 Mullein leaves from both sides now

With apologies to Joni (who wrote the song) and Andrew ( whom, if memory serves correctly, had his own post riffing on the title), here we are approaching a flower, although not as colorful as I led you to believe yesterday.  That’s in the works.

On Sunday, besides visiting Owens Pond, I walked the trail at the new Fort River division of the Silvio Conte National Fish and Wildlife Refuge in Hadley, MA.    I posted a sunrise shot from there on July 12th.  At just a little over 2 miles from my house, it may become a new favorite place, but more for bugs and flowers than landscapes.  The Conte Refuge, if you didn’t follow the link, is a fairly huge collection of land within the 7+ million acre Connecticut River watershed and is itself comprised of 36,000 acres in the four boundary states (VT, NH, MA and CT) along the river’s course.   The Fort River division is growing as the federal government continues to buy land when it becomes available from the local farmers while still allowing them to work the land.  I have met with one who is very happy with the agreement…it has changed little in his use of the land, which is now protected from development.

I guess it’s about time to share the pictures.   As I walked the trail I noticed a large mullein rosette.  Common Mullein (Verbascum thapsus) is a biennial non-native plant which forms a low rosette in its first year and a tall flower spike in the second.  The leaves are covered with fine hairs and yesterday those hairs held a bit of dew.

 

Mullein-Rosette-leaf-top-082315-700Web

I noticed that one of the leaves had turned its underside upward and found the vein pattern even more striking.

Mullein-Rosette-leaf-underside-082315-700WebI think both would work well as monochromes too, but I like showing some of the mullein color and one might say that it is monochrome as everything is a hue of green.

If you are disappointed with just the leaves, here is a link to my post from March of a mullein flower head from a previous year.

I just reread that linked post and realized that I neglected to shoot the entire rosette as requested by Lottie.  I will make amends.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 08.24.2015 Mullein leaves from both sides now

  1. Your second picture does a great job with the texture of these leaves, and viewers can almost feel how soft and fuzzy and pleasant to touch they are.

    Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    I love the color, the textures, and the patterns in that second photo. At first glance, I thought the attack of the leaf miners had taken place: then, I saw the fuzziness. I looked at a full rosette, and now I’m wondering if I might have seen one. Of course, there are more than a few fuzzy plants, so perhaps not. But I’m glad you found this one for us.

    Like

    • I am not sure about Texas, but around here they are probably the most likely seen fuzzy plant…especially as a rosette. I’ll try to get back there and make an image of the whole thing.

      Like

  3. Beautiful and these appear to me as an abstract but I know that is not your intention.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh yes it was, Yvonne…see the keywords at the bottom of the post. 🙂 Although not my main emphasis, I do sometimes like to show little snippets of nature in an abstract way. I am glad that you enjoyed these.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Steve, I am often in a hurry and I have a lot going on right now so I missed the key words. I have also missed some of your posts. I have been pushing myself and by the time I go to bed I’m often just too tired to look at posts. I hate to miss commenting on yours and I hope that I an catch up I don’t want to break my record. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Don’t worry about me, Yvonne. I do look forward to your comments, but I don’t want them at the expense of your health and well-being. Please do what you have to do and take care. I’ll be here when you have a spare moment or two. 🙂

        Like

  4. That top photo is especially appealing. Its high density makes it look like a river in the tropics.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I really like the abstract feel of these photos, especially the second one. I do love these fuzzy plants 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve always concentrated more on the mullein flowers even though I enjoyed the fuzziness of the leaves. I’ll try to spend a little more time with those soft hairs in the future. Thanks, Melissa.

      Like

  6. Andrew says:

    Very good Steve and yes, good for monochrome. Reminds me of a Savoy cabbage!

    Like

Leave a Reply

