08.22.2015 Another moody view

Maybe I will start a category of images called “The Moody Views”.  🙂

Thursday’s post seemed to fall flat, so I am expecting this one to not be terribly popular either.  Lots of clouds and fog this morning, but I was at the same viewpoint as last weekend so decided to see if I could make something interesting.

Mount-Monadnock-from-Enfield-Lookout-082215-700WebI enjoy this scene with the overlapping hills and fog which is similar to this more colorful view of Monadnock seen from New Salem.  It is funny…my attitude toward shooting the same scenery as others have done hundreds of times is one of ambivalence, yet I am more than happy to shoot my favorite local spots often.  Maybe I should rethink shooting the icons and be more positive about that…as a trip to Acadia approaches.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Quabbin and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 08.22.2015 Another moody view

  1. I say get that “Moody Views” section up, before someone else does! It’s a most excellent title. That being said, I am a huge black and white fan. This is a beautiful shot, Steve.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. The choice of black & white really makes your image thoughtful, and yes very moody.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. krikitarts says:

    Moody Views, eh? When the white eagle of the north comes flying overhead…Not quite yet, but one can sense its coming. As for your previous post having “fallen flat,” I must respectfully disagree, and consider myself the richer for your having shared it with us. I’m happy to share your see-saw visions anytime.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Perhaps each picture in your “Moody Views” series should be reserved for a Tuesday Afternoon.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jim in IA says:

    I’d say Moody Views is a winner. Go with it.

    Like

  6. Lottie Nevin says:

    Intricate Knot is spot on – Moody is good. I should know, I’m a woman! Beautiful shot, Steve.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. shoreacres says:

    If you do a series, this one could be titled “Morning’s White Satin.” The fog does seem to be draping the hills with the easy flow of satin. It’s lovely.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. I’ve had those same thoughts, Steve, about painting/not painting popular spots. On the one hand, they are popular for a reason, on the other, they aren’t my voice. I do like the idea of “Moody Views”, and this is a wonderful one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Many would argue that it is up to us to give the popular our own voice. I understand their point but don’t always agree. I suppose were I to visit Yosemite again I would want to try my own vision at Tunnel View and have seen many nice images done since Adams’ classic. From what I have heard though, it would mean shooting elbow to elbow with 50 of my newest BFFs. I’d rather just work at my own places and try to bring out their beauty on a less iconic scale. 🙂
      I am glad you like this one, Melissa.

      Like

  9. Andrew says:

    Is this going to be your Seventh Sojourn Steve?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

