08.15.2015 Geina periscelidactylus

The title here sounds a bit like Aspirin (acetylsalicylic acid...which I can say more easily than the above Latin name…just barely), but it’s a moth…and a beauty at that.

Grape Plume Moth on a milkweed leaf.Grape-Plume-Moth-062615-700-2-WebI’ve not done much mothing this summer, but this was pretty easily captured.  I’ve seen a few different insect species on the milkweed but nary a Monarch caterpillar or butterfly.  I saw a flash of orange the other day, but it was a Spangled Fritillary.  This was a first of the species for me and I should be happy, but I’d honestly rather have the Monarch.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Lepidoptera, macro photography, Nature Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 08.15.2015 Geina periscelidactylus

  1. I like your gerund: mothing. I like your moth, too. When I first saw it I imagined looking down on an airplane from a century ago.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim in IA says:

    Leave out the sceli in the last name. Almost pterodactylus.

    Like

  3. bythebriny says:

    What an interesting and beautiful moth!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shoreacres says:

    I saw an airplane, too, but all those bits of angularity remind me of the struts between a biplane’s wings. One of my cousins restored a 1940s biplane and used it for aerobatics for years. Ironically enough, the plane he flew is called a Tiger Moth. The video shows one in action in New Zealand, in the Wings Over Wairarapa show. My cousin pretty much stayed in Kansas.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I liked the moment as the pilot turned towards the end where the plane seems to hang in stillness for a moment.
      This is more my idea of a tiger moth…I’ll pass on the other one…my stomach is still flip flopping from the video.

      Like

  5. Jackson says:

    Amazing moth, and beautiful capture!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A very unusual looking moth. Nice capture. I wish you have Monarchs too.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A spectacular insect! I’m so glad you found it, and cannot get over the complex structure of this creature.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

