08.14.2015 Another look at Bear’s Den Falls

I’m about to hit the sack and realized that I didn’t post this here.

This is taken from a perspective downstream in the Middle Branch of the Swift River which you might remember as being on its way to the Quabbin and eventually a shower head in Boston…or a lawn, I guess.  Plenty of possibilities.

Bear's-Den-Falls-070315-HDR-700WebWell, that’s it for me tonight.  Those of you who are night owls will shake you head at me for going to bed at 8:30, but that’s how I get up at 4 to see the sunrises.  🙂

Nighty nite.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Trustees of Reservations, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 08.14.2015 Another look at Bear’s Den Falls

  1. Jim in IA says:

    Bedtime? It’s only 8:42 here in WA.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the perspective of this photo. Very nice. I think it’s great that you are able to get to bed early. I wish that I could. Last night I was eating my supper at 10pm. I never eat at a specific time for I always have late pet chores.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sometimes it takes a few visits to come up with something different from what folks usually do when visiting a popular spot. I am glad you like where I set up and shot, Yvonne.
      We all have different body clocks.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Were you a farmer in another life, or is there something that led you to prefer sunrises (and therefore early bedtimes) to sunsets?

    Like

    • It all started when I was a young child with a morning paper route, Steve. The delivery truck tossed the bundles in my driveway at 3:3o which would wake me up…it’s been my start up time since…with a break during college when some nights I didn’t sleep at all.
      Actually, I just like the clean air and quiet atmosphere of the early morning.

      Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    When you post these photos, I’m as intrigued by the rocks as the water. I’m reminded of one of my favorite Wendell Berry poems, called “The Real Work”:

    It may be that when we no longer know what to do,
    we have come to our real work
    and when we no longer know which way to go,
    we have begun our real journey.

    The mind that is not baffled is not employed.
    The impeded stream is the one that sings.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. …And good morning! This night owl appreciates your efforts 🙂 This is a very nice perspective~I love the boulder field.

    Liked by 1 person

    • And I appreciate the night owl work that you have accomplished when I see your paintings. The rocks sure do add to the composition as well as creating some nice cascades. Thanks, Melissa.

      Like

  6. Andrew says:

    Very well balanced Steve: composition, colours, sense of movement. Everything works.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Andrew. The advantage of multiple visits is getting to see the variations in the water and looking for the right way to use it in the photograph. I am not sure this finishes this spot for me, but I do feel that I finally have an idea where to stand. AA’s definition of good composition. 🙂

      Like

  7. Excellent shot. Great location.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Glad you didn’t go to sleep without getting this blog! What a beautiful, serene spot this looks to be.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

