07.30.2015 Mount Pollux Sunrise

I am not sure that three weeks counts as throw back for this Thursday.  And I am also not sure that it replaces the fullish moon that I had hoped to photograph tonight only to be, so it seems, obscured by an overcast sky with the threat of thunder storms.  I’ll keep my eye to the sky.

Here is an image that caused me some concern.  The camera’s sensor had captured the sun with a red ring around it.  The Chromatic Aberration tool in Camera Raw had no effect.  So I selected the yellow of the sun, reversed my selection and cloned the red away.  Seems like a decent save.  I doubt that it would be kosher enough for a competition but I think it can fly for blogging.  🙂

Sunrise-from-Mount-Pollux-070615-700WebSome good news…my camshaft actuator repair was fully covered by the Warranty Policy we purchased less the deductible.  Not too painful.  Having good records of maintenance made a big difference.  The touch up paint for a scratch however was $16 for something the size of a fat pen with a nib.  Anyway, they got the repair done in a day and I am a happy camper…except for the cloudy sky.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Amherst, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 07.30.2015 Mount Pollux Sunrise

  1. Jim in IA says:

    Nice shot of Mr. Sun. Our sunrise was clear and transparent from the start. All day was cloudless with deep blue sky at about 80˚. They don’t come better than this. I golfed with 3 friends to celebrate.

    I’m glad your repairs were covered.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shoreacres says:

    I’m so glad your repairs didn’t turn into a financial nightmare. And one-day service is the best.

    We’re contending with cloudy skies, too, but they did bring a slightly cooler morning. The disappointment is that there’s a six-minute transit of the ISS tonight, and I don’t think it will be visible — unlike your sun!

    Like

  3. As long as you didn’t ham it up too much I think the picture might still be kosher, although that will prevent you from bringing home the bacon.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Andrew says:

    Why did the sensor do that Steve? Is there a way of avoiding it? The end result is excellent.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it is caused by moisture in the air, Andrew. I am not sure if there is a way just as with other problems such as flare. We can reduce the effect and now PS allows us to remove it but I think that is a problem of ethic proportions.

      Like

  5. Fantastic photo and even if you had to “fiddle” with the image, this one is a beauty. I like the “ethic proportion” thing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

