07.26.2015 Frontyard Black-eyed Susan

Thank goodness it is raining.  Most of all, it is welcome relief for our garden.  Lately if there is rain around it has seemed to pass us by.  One day last week I watched an approaching storm on the radar and it actually split with part going north of us and the rest going south.  Not a drop did we see. Secondly, I am nursing a sore back and the rain is keeping me from lugging my pack full of gear around.  So I am popping Tylenols and resting.  At least I finished stacking this year’s heat.  Next year’s is waiting to be split.

Today’s image required no travel or lugging as it was just in the yard and didn’t even require me going outside as it is from the archives (it has appeared here before even).  🙂

Black-eyed-Susan-4aI’ve always carried my entire kit…or at least the large part of it…everywhere I go for fear of not being prepared for some encounter.  I am starting to think that needs review.  I am not sure exactly how I will choose what I need for what excursion.  I may carry a second smaller pack and pick a few lenses and filters upon arrival depending on the location and length of anticipated hike.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, macro photography, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 07.26.2015 Frontyard Black-eyed Susan

  1. I am sorry to hear you are in pain, Steve. It is no fun when our bodies decide to start refusing us what we’ve always done. Perhaps you’ll find that reducing what you carry will impose limits that will actually launch a new level of creativity for you. Enjoy your rain 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Melissa. Yeah, I am slowly getting the idea that I am not young any more. I am sure a lighter load will make things easier although it wasn’t the heavier kit that caused my problem. Still, it will be good to carry a little less.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lyle Krahn says:

    That sore back is no fun and staying in is frustrating. Hope it heals soon.

    We have those flowers on the side of many grid roads and they sure lighten the place up – especially if there’s a hawk nearby.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim in IA says:

    I like this picture. We have some of those along the roadsides and trails. They are nice markers of the season.

    I empathize with your back pain. Mine is almost always present across the belt line. Stretches, meds, walks are helpful. Yard work with bending and lifting is not helpful. Take care and may it pass soon.

    I like what Melissa said about launching a new level of creativity. It can happen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hesitate to mention maladies most of the time, Jim. My pain and discomfort is mild compared to so many others. Most of the time everything is just fine, so I empathize with your constant companion of discomfort. I know I should be doing as much as I do, but someone has to do it and I need to learn strategies for handling the stuff without straining myself. I now move the cut logs for splitting with a hand truck which I also can use to get them up on the splitter.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. shoreacres says:

    A couple of years ago, I went through weeks of weather-system splitting. There’s nothing quite so frustrating as needing rain, then watching it divide and slide past without leaving a drop.

    On the other hand, back pain can be pretty frustrating, too. I don’t suffer from it now but I’ve had the experience, and you have my sympathy. I’ve often wondered how much all that photographic equipment weighs. Maybe you need an assistant and a mule, like William Henry Jackson. Even Ansel Adams had Mistletoe!

    That’s a luscious purple center in that flower. It looks like satin.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Of course, the load is different for different photographers. My bag and equipment weighs about 40 pounds and the tripod another 7. Adams had Mistletoe but not when he climbed Half Dome etc. I think folks were generally a bit hardier back then.
      We had quite nice downpour yesterday afternoon. Hit us square on the nose. It might have lasted a bit longer than the hour or so but we appreciated it just the same.

      Like

  5. Andrew says:

    Backs are awful as they can fix themselves in a few days or linger a lot longer. The archives are very useful at times like these. Would you ever consider moving away from a DSLR Steve?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I might give that consideration, Andrew. But as I approach retirement (full) and Mary Beth’s meds become more of a financial requirement I am doubtful that I will have the spare change to buy another camera unless mine should fail…or fall. I know that I am not in the category of some more well-known photographers, but it is frustrating that I do not sell more than I do. Were that to improve then options are increased. I was just invited to a holiday sale at Mary Beth’s church and maybe something will sell at the bank next month.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Andrew says:

        I can not fathom why you don’t sell more Steve. There are people who achieve almost cult status and whilst they are good they are not necessarily better than you or Sandra for example. It is a mystery but sometimes you become an overnight sensation after 40 years 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • 40 years is about where I am at, Andrew. 🙂

        Like

  6. There is a motto of- “always be prepared” or some old saying but… when the going gets rough then you have to shed some things. What you need is an all purpose lens/camera and I don’t think one of those exists.

    If your back remains out of whack, see a chiropractor and you’ll be good as new. I went to one off and on for about 5 years after falling from my horse in my twenties. It made a huge difference in ridding me of back pain. But then maybe you are not a believer in chiropractors.

    And the photos is excellent. I love the colors that surround the flower. Very subtle and blended.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There are lenses that go from quite wide to telephoto, Yvonne. 15-200 and 28-300. But as with Andrew’s question above, spending on them is probably not wise at this time. I can definitely reduce my load and have ordered a smaller pack to force the change. Of course, I have to use the pack in order for the change to take place. 🙂
      I have nothing against chiropractors. I am glad that has helped you.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. “I may carry a second smaller pack and pick a few lenses and filters upon arrival depending on the location and length of anticipated hike.” That sounds like a good way to go. Sometimes I leave a second bag in my car trunk containing a crop-sensor camera in case I want to get a closer view of something like a bird, and it also contains a ring flash. In my main camera bag I carry my 5D Mark III body, a flash and extra set of batteries, and three L-series Canon lenses: 70–200, 100 macro, 24–105. I couldn’t easily carry more weight than the 14 lbs. that all that adds up to

    Liked by 1 person

    • 14 pounds is quite a difference compared to what I carry. I hope to whittle down the kit to somewhere around that, Steve. But the camera load is not the cause of my problems and I’ve never felt soreness as a result of the load. I have felt breathlessness after climbing a hill trail though, but I think that would still happen even without the pack.

      Like

  8. Really sorry to hear about your back, Steve. It’s pretty much impossible to work around back issues without paying some sort of price. Best to rest when you can. And what a gorgeous shot you’ve shared with us. Love the deep purple and brilliant yellow. Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. tomwhelan says:

    Hope your back is feeling better, Steve. At least you have the consolation of this pretty Rudbeckia image. Maybe you should invest in a smaller pack and lug the 24-70, 70-200, and your 180 for a while – you won’t miss much.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Just Rod says:

    Lovely archival image Steve. We really enjoy the Black Eyed Susan’s here too. I’ve been suffering with back – leg pain for quite a while too. I had to abandon carrying the heavier gear. I tend to go out with a theme in mind now – and hope what I have will work for the surprises.
    Hope you are feeling better soon and that you get the rain you need.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a good strategy, Rod. I’ll probably do similar.
      Sorry to hear about the back and leg pain. One thing about mentioning pain…you find out there are a lot of folks living with it. At least the medical professionals have some good understanding of how to reduce it for us.

      Like

Leave a Reply

