07.21.2015 Northeast Street-a second interpretation

I like strong contrasts.  Sometimes maybe a bit more than is necessary.  So I have taken another run through of Monday’s sky.  This time I have used three images for a combination of exposures for the sky, the shadows and an average of the whole scene to create an HDR but, I hope, without an obviousness of the technique…I actually am on my second iteration as I thought the first too obvious.  As well, this framing includes a bit more of the foreground I was seeing which I think adds a little something to a sense of location.  At first I wanted to avoid the fence, but I think it does add something positive to the image.

Northeast-Street-Dawn-072015-2a-700Web

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Amherst, Landscape, Nature Photography, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 07.21.2015 Northeast Street-a second interpretation

  1. Lottie Nevin says:

    It seems like a lot of different textures. That’s what stands out for me. I rather love the ‘blue’ tone of the fence at the bottom, it makes a natural looking frame.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, I think the fence is an important element here. I like how it anchors the scene.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I counted the layers and think it is seven but then I’m probably not correct. This photo to me, is very interesting because of all the changes in just one scene but the blue fence gives it another dimension which adds a great deal of appeal to this capture.

    If you can look sideways at the one odd looking section of the bottom part of a cloud you can envision a bird with a fuzzy head and a long beak. I think the longer one looks at a scene something will almost always come to mind and I find that to be a “mind game” and a form of meditation.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I see the bird!!! 🙂 That’s clouds for you and a good reason why folks lie on their backs and watch them float by.
      At first I was a little concerned about just how much there is to see in this composition. But I think it all goes together well and keeps the viewer’s eye moving around and back again through the image.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jim in IA says:

    Our sky had a look kind of like that this morning. The fog is a nice touch.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So first you were singing “Don’t fence me in” to yourself, and now you’re of Frost’s opinion that “Good fences make good neighbors.’

    Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    I do prefer your earlier photo of the scene. This one looks somehow unnatural to me — I think it’s the fence. It just seems “too blue,” for some reason. This is well into the realm of personal taste, though — not a criticism of the photo. I think if the fence happened to be the color of the fog, I’d be more kindly disposed toward it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was thinking of printing this for the bank exhibit since it is Amherst. But I have also considered pulling back the blue a bit to make it just a little less dominating. So I am feeling just a bit as you are, Linda. I am also feeling the earlier scene needs a little less saturation…I am rarely satisfied and always thinking of tweaking things.

      Like

Leave a Reply

