07.15.2015 Roadside Intimate

On the way home from Harvard Pond I drove by the pond on Moosehorn Road (I still have no idea whether it has a name or not) and looked for pink waterlilies.  There was just this one and it was too far for a frame filler, so I went the intimate landscape route.

Pink-Waterlily-071315-700WebAlthough named White Water-lily (Nymphaea odorata) they do have pink petals also.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Flora, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 07.15.2015 Roadside Intimate

  1. Andrew says:

    Well seen and beautifully created, Steve.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The scientific name odorata implies a fragrance. Have you ever gotten close enough to sniff one of these flowers to find out if the name is accurate?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Faith says:

    Very beautiful Steve

    Liked by 1 person

  4. krikitarts says:

    No need for a frame-filler with this one. There’s a beautiful balance of the various elements and it looks like you had the extra blessing of perfectly overcast/softbox conditions.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. shoreacres says:

    I’d never heard the phrase “intimate landscape,” but I see it’s a commonplace among photographers.

    Be that as it may, this is a photo that deserves a haiku as response. I messed with one for a while, but don’t have the time to work with it more. So, I’ll just say how much I love the photo — particularly the contrast between the rough-barked tree and the floating lily. It’s really quite striking.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I first heard the term in learning about Eliot Porter. One of my favorites of his work is his his book by that name. A bit more.

      I’ve purloined the phrase a bit and at times call myself an “Intimate Nature Photographer”.

      I am quite happy that you find this pleasing and it moved you to think of a haiku. I’d have enjoying that. It is particularly rewarding when one hears that a work has affected a viewer.

      Like

  6. Beautiful s scene with excellent composition. The water is a delicate shade of pink and lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Yvonne. Most of the water-lilies I find are white as the name implies, but there are pink ones and I can usually find a few at this pond. There was just one other on this occasion but not in as nice a composition. I was fortunate to see this.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Lottie Nevin says:

    and very lovely it is too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m a big fan of the intimate landscape route, Steve 🙂 This looks like a place I’d like to hang out. In fact, it looks like where I was hanging out today. Saying goodbye to the pond won’t be easy but I have lots of memories to take with me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

