07.13.2015 IR Practice at Quabbin Hill

I am pretty comfortable doing what I do.  A lot of folks feel the need to break out and try all sorts of things to get out of a rut or feel like they are growing or build their expression into new forms.  I admire that, but I have a certain way of seeing and capturing nature and pretty much will stay the course.  That said, I did pick up a Hoya R72 filter to do some Infrared shooting.  I don’t think I will use it for IR color and the interesting effects it creates but I believe it will be fun to try some black and white images in that mode.

For my first try at it I went to Quabbin Hill and shot the tower.  It’s not exactly what I was thinking but close enough.  More to come I am sure.

Quabbin-Tower-in-IR-071115-700WebWhen I posted this on Facebook, Jim asked to see a comparison of a straight black and white conversion.  Of course, the image is quite red when using the filter, so I have to compare with a  color shot converted to monochrome.The light had changed just a bit.  I prefer the light and shadow play on the foreground grasses of the first image

Quabbin-Tower-B-W-071115-700WebSo there you have “yesterday’s image tomorrow” today.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Landscape, Patterns in Nature, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 07.13.2015 IR Practice at Quabbin Hill

  1. Jim in IA says:

    Thank you. There are some subtle differences. But, they are quite similar. I notice the sky near the distant horizon through the center tree is more aglow in the 2nd shot. Tree trunks to the far right edge are visible in the 2nd, not the first. Curious.

    Nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The second shot is from a closer distance and slightly uphill from the first, so the trunks became visible. Different framing and crop. I don’t care for the glow around the trees as well as preferring the alternating lighting in the first, so that one gets my vote…if I have one. 🙂
      As well, the leaves and cut stone in the tower take on a different look in IR.

      Like

  2. Infrared was a big part of my photographic life in the 1970s and ’80s, but I haven’t done any since then. I’ve been toying for years with the idea of getting one of my older digital camera bodies converted to infrared, but I haven’t been able to bring myself to do it because a part of me keeps saying to let the past be the past. Whether that past will become one of my tomorrows remains to be seen. If it does, it may be along the lines of the color infrared that you mentioned.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t see a problem with returning to the past if it leads you forward, Steve. I am sure your creative eye would not be repeating previous work.
      If I do much with the R72 I may convert my old 40D…or if I get really crazy and upgrade to the 5DS then the older 5D2.

      Like

      • I’ve been eying the 5D S as well. I’m waiting for hands-on results from dpreview.com, which still has only a preview:

        http://www.dpreview.com/previews/canon-eos-5ds-sr

        Like

      • As appealing as the camera is, I don’t think I will make the leap unless my 5D2 starts to have performance issues. When Mary Beth reaches 65 in a few months, the family till is going to have a louder echo inside. Expenses will only be by necessity. So my mention was more fantasy than reality. Probably the one most hoped for feature, for me, is extended DR. I don’t really need 50 megapixels and, by all reports, Canon still lags behind Nikon and Sony and Fuji in noise control.

        Like

  3. Andrew says:

    I prefer the first shot too. I think it brings out the detail better and the shadows are more pronounced. Interesting experiment Steve.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like the top image best too. The details, textures, and contrast is richer to my eyes. The composition is lovely.
    I’ve thought about getting one of those filters to try before changing an old camera to IR. I’m looking forward to seeing more of what you do with the filter.

    Like

  5. This shows the expert that you are. Same scene in black and white, yet two completely different images.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

