07.08.2015 The other side of the rock

Closing in on one feature of Amethyst Brook, I liked the sharp edge of the rock, the strong flow and the splash at the far splash.  And, as always, I am trying to show the variety of textures in the frame as well as capture the motion.

Amethyst-Brook-Cascade-2a-070415-700Web

The video shows the entire rock.  The right side is yesterday’s post.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 07.08.2015 The other side of the rock

  1. krikitarts says:

    Beautifully done, Steve. I like the variety of earth-tones in the cascade and the contrast of detail in the rock surface and the soft flow of the moving water. The stuff of meditation.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Gary. My first thought upon seeing this was monochrome. But once seeing the variety of color in the water flow I kept it that way. Stuff you don’t notice in real time.

      Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    Seeing the rock in the video and then in the photo, I’m amazed at your ability to juxtapose the sharpness of the rock edge with the flowing water. It’s an arresting image, at least in part because the water isn’t apparent as it moves over the rock. Either it’s very clear, or very shallow, or both, but the initial disconnect really made me stop and take a closer look.

    Liked by 2 people

    • The “invisibility” of the water flowing over the rock is partially a function of the polarizing filter which cuts glare, so evident in the video, and helps with the clarity of the water. But the water is quite shallow too as it passes over the flat top of the rock.
      The line of the rock edge and the flow of the water were the two reasons I made the image. I wasn’t sure the splash would show well, but it is visible so I think that worked well too.
      If I can get someone to stop and take a further look at an image I feel successful. Thanks, Linda.

      Like

  3. Jim in IA says:

    Another photo nicely enhanced with video. It really adds dimension.

    My camera has a feature I’ve never used. It lets me add an audio recording to a picture as a notation. Have you ever used a feature like that? These video notations are much more complete.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, my camera can do that but, no, I have not used that function. I’ve not even made a video with my big camera, just the phone. Silly really since I am right there. It would make a much better video. Maybe someday.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. A very interesting photo. Extremely sharp contrast of the rock against the flow of the water. I really like the video. I always wonder where does all that water come from and how far away has it traveled to emerge from any given area.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wonder the same thing, Yvonne. It always amazes me that the water just keeps coming. I do understand a bit of groundwater hydrology, so the fact that there is a long-lasting, but not never-ending, supply makes sense. As well, ponds and lakes keep some brooks supplied. But that flows last as long as they do between rain events is still amazing to me.
      The contrast of the lines and flow is what interested me so I am glad you enjoyed that element.

      Like

  5. It is nice to see the video for context. Waterfalls are mesmerizing, aren’t they? I think if I lived near one I would be there all the time gazing at it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • If I do not have a specific subject in mind as I leave the house, I will most often head for water that is moving such as a river or brook (stream or creek for Steve). I enjoy the sound that blocks out most everything else as well as the sense of motion and clean water that we are graced with in our local resources.

      Like

  6. I think you found a beautiful balance of milky and motion. I was just looking back at some waterfall images I took in 2012 and think my 6 stop ND filter was too much. This is what I would want today. I hope that El Nino building in the Pacific holds this year and we get some rain this winter…and doesn’t fizzle out like it did last year. If it holds and we get rain I’ll go back and make some new images.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Deborah. I’ve found that I don’t need much more than my circular polarizer when shooting in the woods in the early hours. Often I will have to bump up the ISO to get the exposures down as 8 or 10 seconds can be too much time to retain some structure to the motion. Also, I start by exposing for the area of water that will be the whitest so it does not blow out. Sometimes it is possible to then lengthen the exposure if the histogram indicates that there is room.
      Good luck with El Nino this summer. We started out dry but the last few weeks have been more than generous with the rainfall.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

