07.06.2015-2 Harvard Pond Sunrise Silhouette

In processing this sunrise from yesterday morning earlier this afternoon, I saw quite a similarity to this morning’s post.  So here is a two-fer.  And just as similar is the circumstance that I had something else on my mind as I became aware that this was developing.  I had thought this a possibility but was concentrating on something entirely different when I noticed the sun breaking through the trees, changed my position and waited for it to clear the tops.

Harvard-Pond-Sunrise-070515-700Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Central Massachusetts, Landscape, Nature Photography, Sunrise and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 07.06.2015-2 Harvard Pond Sunrise Silhouette

  1. Eerie and mysterious. Very nice. I like this one very much. It looks so moody. Would make a great book jacket for a Romanic mystery. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice: essence of sunrise, that’s what you’ve got here.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can see how this would have gotten your attention.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jim in IA says:

    I follow an astronaut, Terry Virts, on Twitter. He is also a fan of sunrises. Here are two links he posted this week. I hope they work.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Andrew says:

    Perfect composition Steve and lovely soft light.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    That doubled sun is a knockout. It’s interesting that the reflected sun is smaller — a function of the fog making the one in the sky appear larger, I’m sure. We rarely have a sunrise worth mentioning, let alone photographing. But the sunset season is starting. When the heat builds, so do the clouds, and the colors can be spectacular.

    Like

    • I may be saying the same thing as you here…I think the difference in size is due to the reduced intensity of the sun’s light reflected in the pond. In seeing the sun real-time, there was more orange, but the sensor can only handle so much light before things overexpose. So the sun appears larger because of the white ball of light being more intense in the sky than the water. I am sure the fog plays a large part in reducing the light’s intensity. As well, a wide angle lens exaggerates distance so the reflection, being closer, would appear somewhat smaller..
      My cousin who lives on Lake Erie has invited us to visit so that I could photograph their sunsets which, looking at Google, do appear quite spectacular. I can just imagine that yours are amazing too with the intense heat and powerful storms.

      Like

Leave a Reply

