07.05.2015 Amethyst Brook Falls

I am not sure this spot actually has a name aside from being Amethyst Brook.  But this is obviously a waterfall, so that’s its name as far as I am concerned.

After yesterday’s nice start to the fourth, I drove down to Pelham and went by here to see how things looked.  There was still plenty of water from Wednesday’s rain, and prior, so I walked a bit of the the brook.

Here’s the first of a few images from Saturday.  As with Bear’s Den, there will be more to follow including an abstract or two.

Amethyst-Brook-Cascade-and-Waterfall-070415-700WebI’ve posted a few images from this location before and this may look similar to one of those.

And in keeping with what may be a very short tradition….

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 07.05.2015 Amethyst Brook Falls

  1. The sound came through very well and on my computer it is LOUD. Of course I could turn the volume down but I like the sound. The pic is very nice too. Do you have any idea of how many brooks/waterfalls you have photographed in your state? Not the number of repetitive shoots of each falls but the number of falls at various locations.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was very loud standing there, Yvonne. You are probably getting a faithful reproduction. 🙂
      I really don’t know a number. Not all that I have posted are actually waterfalls as I make images of cascades both large and small which can resemble a waterfall. New Hampshire and Maine have a lot more than Massachusetts. I just know that there are still several that I have yet to visit here in WMass.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You seem to have more waterfalls in your vicinity than anyone has a right to. How about I send you some prickly pear cacti and you send me a spare waterfall or two?

    Liked by 1 person

    • If possible, I would be glad to. We do have quite a few waterfalls and cascades and, although I have yet to find one, we also have a species of Opuntia that is hardy enough to grow here. Guess I should go to the coast more often.

      Like

      • I looked up the distribution map for your species at

        http://plants.usda.gov/core/profile?symbol=OPHU

        and found that it reaches down into Texas. I checked with a detailed plant list for my county prepared by a local expert and discovered that there have been a few claimed sightings of that species here, though the evidence is sketchy. I wonder now if I’ve ever seen it and just assumed it was the species that’s very common here.

        In any case, you should indeed head for the coast and see what new things you can find there.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim in IA says:

    I am enjoying the video additions. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shoreacres says:

    I really do like this photo — and the falls. I’m not sure what it is that makes it stand out for me, but it does. I think part of it’s the longer view, that lets us seen the brook winding through the rocks.

    That’s interesting about your Opuntia. I’ve not seen it here in my neighborhood, but I was introduced to it in Matagorda County a couple of years ago. I never would have imagined you could find it up there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • One of the strategies in composing an image is to have a foreground feature when possible. With the falls in the distance, the rock helps to create movement of the eye through the image rather than just plunking it on the falls. I think that may be part of what you are enjoying in this.
      When I first started growing cactus in pots, I was surprised that we had Opuntia locally. But I then realized that we had several Kalanchoe and Sedum varieties that are successful, so it made sense that there could be a cactus too.

      Like

  5. Pingback: 07.16.2015 Another from Amethyst Brook | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

