07.03.2015 Bear’s Den Falls 1

With the water at high levels, I am taking advantage and visiting some of my regular haunts that I usually see with a lower flow.  Bear’s Den is a The Trustees of Reservations property in New Salem, MA. The lore is that King Phillip met here with other Native American leaders to plan attacks.

This is also part of the Middle Branch of the Swift River that feeds into the Quabbin Reservoir and which you have seen here before although a few miles distant from this location.  There will be a few posts from today although not necessarily consecutive.

Bears-Den-Falls-1-070315-700Web

I am not sure if I will do this for every water shot, but at least here is the second video of a waterfall posted for the sound.  Maybe someday I’ll do a video with something other than the iPhone.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Trustees of Reservations, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 07.03.2015 Bear’s Den Falls 1

  1. Andrew says:

    Can you get closer Steve and avoid the solitary tree? I’m interested to see how you exploit this site. It looks beautiful but hopefully the flow is not too fast.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There will be more without the tree, Andrew. This is the introduction. 🙂
      Yes, the flow is quite fast, but I think there will be enough detail in the closer shots. I don’t mind silky, but I know that it isn’t for everyone.

      Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    A beautiful place, for sure. And I love the sound of water. “Live water,” we call it, as opposed to dead water, I suppose: water that just sits around.

    Was there a special bear that had a den there? Names like that always intrigue me. If I were a bear, I wouldn’t mind living in such a spot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is a beauty of a spot for sure, Linda. I have been there through all the seasons. A couple of my favorite ice shots were made there.
      The description linked above says that a black bear, which is now the only species we have here, was shot there and therefore the name. There are several good size voids in the rock walls and I had always assumed they were thought of a bear’s den although they are not terribly deep but I am not sure if there is a connection to them or not.
      I will probably make these videos for each new spot I visit although water sounds like water. 🙂

      Like

    • I corrected the link.

      Like

  3. Girl Gone Expat says:

    Beautiful capture of these two parallel waterfalls.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jim in IA says:

    I like the addition of the video. The short clip is enough. Feel free to do it any time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • THanks. I am including it with each waterfall/cascade for the next few. I may do longer clips and then you can listen to the sound while reading the post and looking at the image…or maybe not, we’ll see.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This was enjoyable Steve. Very nice and I like the landscape view very much, The video is great and now you’ll need to keep adding one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. If I stumbled into a bear’s den I’d hope it was a bare den.

    Like

Leave a Reply

