06.26.2015 Backyard Bunny

We are almost always graced with a few eastern cottontails (Sylvilagus floridanus) living in the yard.  There are several this year and this guy was particularly accommodating.  I had been walking around the yard with my 100 macro and flash photographing insects when I saw him/her and made a few images while lying in my stomach.

Eastern-Cottontail-1-062415-700Web

Eastern-Cottontail-2-062415-700WebLast year, I got a couple of shots of what may have been this individual as a young pup.  The first is slightly blurred because it was hand held.  The other sharp because I had enough time to go back in for my tripod.

Nursing-Bunnies-070114-600WebMom’s been through a battle or two.

Bunnies-070114-600Web - CopyI was pretty disappointed that the nursing image is blurry.  I had never seen nursing rabbits before and who knows whether I ever will again.  Ah well, as my favorite football coach might say, “On to Friday”.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Animal Behavior, Closeup Photography, Fauna, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to 06.26.2015 Backyard Bunny

  1. So nice. Good photography, and lucky you to see this miracle.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim in IA says:

    Do you have coyote and fox in your area?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It seems that what white-tailed deer are to my neighborhood, Eastern cottontails are to yours, and they each have their tales to tell.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. As common as they are I’ve stopped looking at them…I enjoyed this opportunity to pause and be touched by their cute innocence.

    Like

    • It is easy to take “common” for granted…especially with those species that have it as part of their name 🙂 ….but I try to look at them all the same. That said, I would be pretty excited to see an albino moose.
      They are adorable. 🙂

      Like

  5. Andrew says:

    Well done Steve. Ours are so twitchy I can’t get outside before they run. Maybe next year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am amazed that ours are as relaxed as they are. I don’t think they could have figured out that Murphy is gone yet and he would charge them full steam to the end of his run.

      Like

  6. Lottie Nevin says:

    OOooooo, these are just wonderful! What a great photo op, the nursing bunny. I really must need specs though because I can’t see any blurring at all – they all look perfect to me.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Wow oh wow. These are some lucky shots of the nursing bunnies. I enjoyed these photos so much. I’m with Lottie for I can’t see the blurring either. I have a cottontail that I see in the yard sometime but I’ve never seen more than one rabbit and not every day. I suppose my dogs keep them away.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yep. I hope it’s not a once in a lifetime opportunity. If you could see it at 100% then it would show more and if I were to print it then too. I think it could be a publishable shot if not for the slight motion blur.
      I guess the rabbits in the yard will be even more bold now without Murphy’s occasional challenge to them.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I finally got a FB page and I posted this link. I hope it brought you some views. I’m not trying to amass a bunch of friends but I plan on posting some of my favorite bloggers links when I see a post that I think will be viewed by the few folks that I have friended. My FB page is just Yvonne Daniel with one of my chocolate labs, Molly, as the header.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I searched for you but maybe your account is too new to show up. I’ll try again later. Thanks for sharing my post.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Wonderful images! I wonder how many people have ever had the opportunity to see nursing rabbits at all??… Probably very few!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. shoreacres says:

    This makes two brand new sights for me this week: napping deer, laid out flat on the ground, and nursing bunnies.How lucky you were to see such a thing.

    All of the photos are a delight. I like the second one, too, for the alert, engaged expression on the bunny’s face, but those rag-tag ears on the mother are touching. I suppose all mothers bear scars from a battle or two — we just can’t see them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • shoreacres says:

      I just bumped into bluebells on another blog — known in parts of our country as harebells. I was struck by this: “The common name of harebell alludes to the folk beliefs that it either grew in places frequented by hares or that witches used juices squeezed from this flower to transform themselves into hares.”

      If you have harebells/bluebells in your neighborhood, you might take a better look at those bunnies.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I am sure that any witch transformed into a cute little bunny would be a good witch. 🙂 Actually, I am not much of a believer in evil witches. Must be the Glinda effect from my youth.

        Like

    • It was a new sight for me also, Linda. And I have never seen a napping deer…just the alert ones who are aware of my every fidget.
      I am thinking that the ear injuries are from thorns rather than wildlife encounters.One would guess that mammal predators would be chasing from behind although I guess that a misjudging hawk or owl might have grabbed onto an ear.

      Like

Leave a Reply

