06.22.2015 Annual meadow orchids

Not too much to say about these.  I’ve posted both here before, but it’s an annual tradition for me to visit my wet meadow near Lawrence Swamp for them.  They are such lovely flowers and it is hard to not make a few more images and to share them.

Rose-Pogonia-062015-700WebRose Pogonia (Pogonia ophioglossoides)

Grass-Pink-062015-700WebGrass Pink (Calopogon tuberosus)

These are what I was looking for when I came across the maple leaves that I posted yesterday.  It was a good day that started with the sunrise which I posted Saturday.  There are still a few images yet to share from that shoot.

 

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Amherst, Closeup Photography, Flora, Nature Photography, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 06.22.2015 Annual meadow orchids

  1. Jim in IA says:

    Really lovely. The moisture adds the right elements to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shoreacres says:

    This is the second time I’ve noticed your phrase “wet meadow.” The first time, I thought you simply meant that it had rained, or that it was particularly dewy. Now I’m wondering if “wet meadow” ponts to a specific sort of land, like a bog, or a swamp.

    In any event, the flowers are lovely. I still can’t get over the fact that orchids aren’t confined to far off and exotic locations, like the Amazon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There are actually quite a few native orchids in the U.S. I have barely scratched the surface. There are several wetland categories with wet meadow being one. Quite often this one has some standing water although this day was just seriously damp.

      Like

  3. Golly, gee, whiz! These are as beautiful if not more so than the orchids that grow in exotic far away places. I’m glad that you have posted these for many folks have no idea that North America contains a nice variety of native orchids. The photos are special.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A lot of the faraway place orchids that we see in stores, most actually, are hybrids. Mary Beth has several and belongs to an orchid club that sponsors a show annually with some amazingly gorgeous specimens. I do prefer these naturally occurring natives myself. Thanks for such an enthusiastic comment, Yvonne. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lottie Nevin says:

    The droplets of moisture on them, make the photo. Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ronaldpoels says:

    Beautiful pictures

    Liked by 1 person

  6. They’re lovely jewels which you isolated perfectly. The creaming backgrounds are lovely and really show these two off perfectly.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Even if I’d photographed these two species on other occasions, I’d have done what you did and taken new pictures. Etymological me will add that the species name ophioglossoides means ‘resembling ophioglossum,’ which I see is a kind of fern known as adder’s tongue. In ancient Greek, ophis meant ‘snake’, and glossa ‘tongue,’ so somebody’s imagination conjured up a snake’s tongue. I don’t know if our imaginations can turn the lowest portion of the rose pogonia into a snake’s tongue.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Rose pavonia | Portraits of Wildflowers

  9. BuntyMcC says:

    These are lovely shots of a delicate flower.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. A day that includes these lovelies, and the maple leaves, is a good day. Somehow there is a quietude to your portrait shots that I really like.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Melissa. I am not quite sure how I portray the quiet of nature in my images, but I am almost always making them during the peaceful early hours of the days. I do try to capture the experience of the moment, so if it is quiet then I guess I am capturing that as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

