06.16.2015 Prescott Sunrise

Prior to what I posted yesterday, I was concentrating on the dawn colors over Prescott Peninsula…a part of the Quabbin lands that is off limits for unauthorized visits.  I am not quite sure why it is off limits now, but I believe it had been so eagles could be reestablished, which was very successful, although it was also stated that water quality protection is why.  Perhaps it is to continue protecting them.

So here is what I quickly captured upon arriving breathless at water’s edge after double timing it down the road.  I am quite happy that we are approaching the equinox and the sun will start rising a little later each day.  We have reached a point where it rises at 5:12 each of the next several days before starting back towards 5:15 and onwards.

This is what .6 seconds looked like.

Quabbin-Prescott-Peninsula-1-061415-700Web

But the goal was to work on long exposures. So here is 178 seconds.

Quabbin-Prescott-Peninsula-2-061415-700Web

Again, each has its strong points.  Had the water been more calm, I think the first could have resembled the second but with more defined cloud structure. After Jackson’s question yesterday I will add that I did use two different white balances here.  The first is as shot and the second is daylight.

So…again I ask, do you have a preference.?  🙂

 

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 06.16.2015 Prescott Sunrise

  1. Steve, I think these each are very nice but the colors in the second one are more appealing to me. The first one just seems a more out there with the colors a bit too bold for my taste.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jackson says:

    The smooth water and sense of cloud motion sets the long exposure way ahead for me. I’m sure (as always) that there are other viable approaches to the color, but the smoothness and motion will make this shot regardless of subtleties in white balance.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I tried a few white balance options and settled for daylight again, Jackson. I am pleased with the effect created by the long exposure and may start doing a lot more when the situation allows. Thanks.

      Like

  3. Jim in IA says:

    I prefer the first one. It seems more realistic to the scene. I like how you are able to use filters, WB, and time to capture various effects. Some of them are very subtle.

    Good thing you don’t live up near Hudson Bay or Newfoundland. You’d be up much earlier.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really shouldn’t complain. The time isn’t that bad and our weather is generally not very severe. Until a year or so ago getting up at 3 am was no big deal.
      Digital sure does give us a lot of options. There was a fair amount of possibility for manipulation with film but nothing like all the variations we can create now.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Difficult choice, but I have a slight preference for the second one. I’m curious~which do you prefer?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lottie Nevin says:

    The second – I love the ‘tie n’ dye’ feel that goes with it 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    I prefer the first, primarily because the dark cloud seems to be “reflecting” the dark hill in the same way that the water is reflecting the bright swath of color. They’re like warp threads on a loom — what a sunrise you could weave from them!

    Like

    • What sparks me about the first is that large dark cloud with the illuminated wisps or ridges below. But, despite the reality, I don’t care for choppy water generally. So the second wins the day for me with the movement and soft light.

      Like

Leave a Reply

