06.07.15 Escapism

Yesterday I got out of the house for a little while to lose myself in the woods and clear my mind for a bit.  I went back to my new favorite waterfall in Shutesbury.  Just 5 feet high or so, but it absolutely drowns out all sound and most thoughts.  🙂

Dean-Brook-Waterfall-060615-700WebThank you again to all for your comforting comments and likes.  They are all appreciated and the support makes coping a little less difficult.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 06.07.15 Escapism

  1. krikitarts says:

    I did exactly the same thing on the day after we lost our last dog, Limo. I felt so close to the natural world that day, following a path that we had taken together oh, so many times. It helps to start the healing, but the void they leave behind persists for a very long time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I never took Murphy in the woods with me. Well, we did walk in the woods by Hampshire College next to our neighborhood, but that was part of his daily walks and different from where I go to experience nature. I couldn’t have controlled him while shooting and letting him loose would have been unwise. So my escape to the woods was purely to lose myself for a little while.
      I think that void will last in me beyond a long time…forever, actually. I am taking this much harder than I expected to and I told Mary Beth today that I am not sure I can do it again. The third time is not a charm. The response I am having would probably kill me in another 10 years. It feels like it might now.

      Like

      • krikitarts says:

        It’s a delicate matter to take a hound into the woods when there are other activities on the potential agenda, e.g., photography. Limo (half Basset) could never be trusted off-lead in the woods, because when he caught sight or scent of a chipmunk, squirrel, or any other active and furtive critter, he’d be gone after it in a heartbeat. And when such a companion is gone, it’s very tempting to say that it was the last time. But, if we have the time (and this is critical), can we deny the possibility of another delightful decade or so of another chance with another furry family member?

        Liked by 1 person

      • As is often said…time will tell.

        Like

  2. Jim in IA says:

    That looks to be a great place to reflect and ponder good things. It would offer solace to those remembering unhappy things.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was a good place to be away from everything for a few minutes, Jim. Just the peace and “quiet” so to speak allowed me to just concentrate on the photography. I find that the concentration required in image making is a good way to clear everything else away for a time.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. shoreacres says:

    My favorite version of “Simple Gifts” is the one performed by Alison Krause and Yo-Yo Ma, and my favorite video of the duet is this one. Your photo up above reminded me of it — the man who put it together is a photographer too, and he did a good job. I think you might enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lyle Krahn says:

    What a great place to be drowning out thots! I can see why it’s your new favourite.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wonderful image and scene Steve, I can understand you being drawn to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Last week I went to a nature area called Tejas Camp, which isn’t in a town or near any main highway. I remember thinking—and enjoying—how quiet the place was. It’s a rare thing for most of us now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

