06.04.2015 Deflection

I enjoy getting a bit more intimate with the waterfalls and cascades.  On their own, each has some interesting flow to them and in this image the flow is obviously strongly influenced by the rock that is redirecting the water.  I made several images at varying exposures and this captures the movement I was hoping to portray.

Dean-Brook-Cascade-050915-700Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 06.04.2015 Deflection

  1. Getting to take a close look at this waterfall is a treat~I fancy I can hear it, and feel the energy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim in IA says:

    What exposure was your favorite?

    Like

  3. Hanna says:

    it is extremely beautiful. Thank you for the inspiration ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Andrew says:

    Just like a painting. Did Rembrandt do waterfalls, I wonder?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This seems like an excellent balance between stasis and movement, with just the right amount of wispy detail in the water.

    Like

    • That is just the combination I was working towards, but calculating is difficult making multiple exposures necessary to hit it just right. I suppose one could gauge the water speed, read the light and refer to a chart to figure the proper exposure. Making several seems easier.

      Like

      • With moving water I take lots of images in hopes of getting one I like. Sometimes I set the camera on high-speed shutter release and blast away, knowing that even in the fraction of a second from one take to the next bubbling water changes a lot.

        Like

  6. It has a wonderful flow to it Steve, great work !!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

