05.25.2015 Yellow Lady’s Slipper

There are certain wildflowers that I try to visit every year.  The Painted Trilliums probably top the list, but not far behind are the Yellow Lady’s Slippers (Cypripedium parviflorum).  I am not sure if they are naturally occurring in this spot or if the former property owner planted them.  But they are native and Pink Lady’s Slippers are all over the sanctuary, so they may have grown there on their own.  Either way, I find them quite lovely and it is always a joy to visit them and make a few images.

The last few years have been a little disappointing.  Last year someone had stomped a couple and the previous year they were a meal for a deer, most likely.  This year all was well.

Yellow-Ladyslipper,-High-Ledges-052415-700WebI generally prefer a green background for these portraits, but the last couple with dried leaves have been satisfying enough.  I waited for the cloud-filtered sun to peek through some branches and hit the flower with the background still somewhat shaded.  I think it works..

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Nature Photography, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 05.25.2015 Yellow Lady’s Slipper

  1. so good to see this. We have a few populations we monitor here and they are dwindling, although we don’t know why.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim in IA says:

    It works for me. I like the way there is a twist in the sepals. Is that the correct word? We have them here according to http://plants.usda.gov/core/profile?symbol=CYPA19. I’ve never seen them. Maybe I should look more carefully.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sometimes it takes someone willing to share a location for the harder to find flowers. Sepals they are and the twist is something I especially enjoy with them also, Jim.

      Like

  3. Gail P. says:

    That’s very nicely done! Was that at High Ledges?

    Like

  4. Hanna says:

    It is very beautiful indeed ❤ Glad the Yellow Lady’s Slippers made it in 2015 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. shoreacres says:

    I like the corkscrew effect, too. I’ve looked and looked at these lady slippers, and admired them, but I can’t get over how much this one, especially, looks like a plump little spider. See?

    Like

  6. I’ll join the chorus and say I think it works too.

    Like

  7. drawandshoot says:

    It is a beauty for sure, Steve! Gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. krikitarts says:

    Your patience and perseverance were well worth the effort. I doubt that a green background would have resulted in any improvement. Different, surely, but better? I think that the earth-tones are fully appropriate for this wonderful portrait.

    Like

  9. Lottie Nevin says:

    Not only is it a very lovely photograph, but the name of the flower is enchanting too. I rather fancy that the person that named it was fond of the wee fairie folk. It certainly conjures up a scene from ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’. And on the subject of magic and fairie folk, I wish that I could spirit you away to my corner of Andalucia. I’d love to show you the flora here and get your help in naming them. So many of the plants and flowers that I see growing in the wild remain a mystery to me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

