05.21.2015 Button…sort of

Reishi?  It could be Ganoderma lucidum (Reishi and prized by herbalists) or a Fomitopsis pinicola (Red-banded Polypore and also reported to have medicinal properties)…I’ll have to go back later in the season after it is more fully developed.  A more informed mushroomer may know right away, but I am not as sure.

They are so cute when they’re young.  🙂

Ganoderma-lucidum-bud-051815-700Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Fungi, Mushrooms, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 05.21.2015 Button…sort of

  1. Hanna says:

    Your last remark make me smile 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim in IA says:

    Maybe someone stuck a melted marshmallow on the tree. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh yes they are, you would love to eat them !! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Are you talking mushrooms in general or one of these in particular, Gin? I love mushrooms and bought some morels this morning. I was thinking of putting them in my pasta sauce but am not sure if their flavor would be lost. I usually add regular button mushrooms and porcinis.

      Like

      • Sorry, I wasn’t clear in my comment 😉 I was replying to your question, aren’t they cute. And so, yes, I find them very cute, so cute, that you would eat them !! 😀

        I don’t know a lot about cooking mushrooms, so I can’t really help. I’ve never tasted morels.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Andrew says:

    Is there a golf ball hiding under there? The Titleist Toadstool?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This one is also very interesting. Cute too. I’m enjoying your finds.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    Are you sure that’s not an ingredient for a pinicolada?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

