5/18/2015 Painted Trilliums 2015

These are from two weekends…one a week ago and one yesterday.  If I am fortunate there may be more, but I won’t get out again with the camera until Saturday next.  But by then it may well be lady’s slipper time.

From last Saturday the 9th, this was a surprise find as I hiked along Dean Brook making this image. The petals do not always line up with the leaves but I got lucky for this one.

Painted-Trillium-Dean-Brook-050915-2-700WebThere is one spot hidden within a clump of mountain laurel where I most often find painted trilliums.  I visit there most every year and have often been fortunate to find a nice image or two as with this from yesterday.

Painted-Trillium-051715-700WebnThe majority of Trillium undulatum I find have medium green leaves, but I look for the darker leaves as the contrast between petal and leaf really gives a rich look to the image.

I am sure that to the average person if you have seen one then you have seen them all.  But there is always some little variety among the petals…more elongated or a bit rounded…and the curly edges vary as well from plant to plant.  More veining or less veining.  Leaves supporting the petals or not.

I am hoping for one more week to shoot these, but if it doesn’t work out I am pleased with what I have.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 5/18/2015 Painted Trilliums 2015

  1. I’d also be pleased with what you’ve already gotten, but there’s no harm in longing for more.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Andrew says:

    I always look forward to this time of year and the emergence of the Painted Trillium flowers. More exhibition material?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim in IA says:

    Those are such a gorgeous example of simplicity and symmetry. I see why you are out hunting for them. Keep the photos coming.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. shoreacres says:

    I very much like the second photo, because of the more complete view of the stem. And I like the way the little curl of the bottom leaf mimics the curve of the stem. They’re such an unusual, attractive flower. The brown background is a nice touch, too. It gives the photos a forest-y feel.

    Like

    • Thanks, Linda. I have too much tendency to want to fill the frame with the flower and often neglect the entirety. Sometimes I do that because the surrounds are so distracting. In this case it all worked.

      Like

  5. The Painted Trillium is one of those plants that always looks good, no matter how you achieve the photograph. I compare it to a human model that photographs extremely good no matter the dress or the background. I like these photos very much.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. These are lovely! I haven’t seen any in the wild this Spring.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a treat, Steve. I haven’t seen these before. You’re right, I see a great deal of variation when I keep looking. So much so that sometimes I wonder if I’m seeing another species!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

