05.17.2015 Here comes the sun

South Amherst again, but a different day, a different location and different conditions.

My neighborhood was not very foggy this morning, so I headed out with just visions of flowers dancing in my head.  But once I drove into Hadley and saw the fog there, this view came to mind and as I turned around back into town I visualized the scene on Southeast Street almost exactly as you see it here.  The only difference was I pictured the sun as a bit more defined but no complaints from me.

Southeast-Street-Landscape-051715-700WebI have been accepted for a gallery exhibit in the Amherst Town Hall for two months in 2016.  The exact months have yet to be determined.  I think it will be, for some odd reason, mostly images from around Amherst and quite possibly this will be amongst those I select.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 05.17.2015 Here comes the sun

  1. I’m sure it will do well, Steve. It is beautiful and has your stamp all over it. Congratulations on the exhibit next year 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy exhibition. Will you make prints yourself or have a company do them? If the latter, have you found a company you especially like?

    Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    Doot-n-doodoo! What happy news–you must be really looking forward to that. Well done, Steve!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am looking forward to it, but the venue is a little different as the bulk will be shown in the Town Hall stairwell going to the second and third floors with only a few on the ground floor. Thanks, Gary.

      Like

  4. That is great news and I am anxious to see what you will include or will you be posting any photos for your readers to view after the show, maybe? As always, I love the foggy scenes and this one is beautiful. The sun burning through the haze is beautiful. And the tree on the right provides interest, emphasis and, balance. Perfection.

    Liked by 1 person

    • As with the hospital and library, I will show the exhibit after i hang it, Yvonne. Or I may show a catalog of the images.
      This was all I had hoped for. Once in a while a vision comes to fruition. 🙂

      Thanks, Yvonne.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Andrew says:

    A lovely shot Steve but it will have stiff competition for inclusion in the exhibition. Two months should give you a lot of exposure so keep the prices high :-))

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Andrew. I will be collecting more Amherst shots to, I hope, add to the catalog as the summer and fall come along. My prices have remained steady for a while now. I won’t lower them because that would not be looked upon with pleasure by my previous clients. I just hope no one falls down a flight of stairs while looking at them. 😳

      Like

  6. Phil Lanoue says:

    Outstanding scene! Great news about the gallery selection.

    Like

  7. Jim in IA says:

    I chime in with my kudos about your exhibition. The scene above, and some more like it, will be welcome additions. The people around there have surely witnessed some of them first-hand. Highlight as many of the local scenes and color as you are able. I know you will do well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The last time I showed in Amherst I did manage a few sales to folks who recognized a scene and wanted it on their wall. Although I did show a few from local towns in my application, most will be from around Amherst…whether landscape or floral.

      Like

  8. tomwhelan says:

    Beautiful light and composition – lovely combination of colors. Best wishes for your exhibit!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. shoreacres says:

    I’m so pleased for you. I don’t know how it is for you, but I always find a goal like the exhibit to be energizing. Plus, there’s the sheer pleasure of choosing what will be shown from among your photos. I think it would be hard to choose, simply because you have such a “stash” of wonderful images. Do you know yet how many can be included, or will that come later?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Linda!
      I sometimes find it a little overwhelming but it does get the juices flowing. Mary Beth always wants me to hang what I already have and I usually want to hang new material although the old stuff is probably new to another group of viewers. I could just hang my cap on the fact that I am an Amherst-based photographer but include stuff from all over although I’d rather keep it local.
      I counted the frames in a recent hanging there and there were 18, but they were mostly larger portraits and mine will vary in size…maybe.

      Like

  10. Lyle Krahn says:

    Congrats. This will be a wonderful addition.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Lottie Nevin says:

    Great news about your new show of work. This latest landscape is stunning. I’m sure you are going to find it hard to select which photographs to put up – they are all magnificent and have lots of appeal.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much, Lottie. Yes, it is hard to choose what to show. But for the opposite reason you are thinking. While I do like the images I make, when sorting them I always have a problem with this or that and have to convince myself that most are worthy. I see the flaws and figure they are bold and the world will see them too. I appreciate your kind words. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

