05.14.2015 Thrilling Trout Lily Thursday

From Sunday, May 3rd.  I was visiting my former favorite waterfall…I have been instructed that it is now off limits due to the moronic behavior of others and I won’t go back unless I obtain permission from the owner.  It’s a disappointment, but I do have several images that I am pleased with so I can live with that.  Here is one of the two from what may be my last time there.Gunn-Falls-upper-050315-700WebI have one other and that will show up later.

Meanwhile, below the falls were some wildflowers, the recent red trillium was one that I shot and here is the other…a Trout Lily (Erythronium americanum).  An older image showed up here earlier this month but this is a fresh piece of work.Trout-Lily-050315-700WebFortunately, I can find these in other places…the waterfall, not so much.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Landscape, Nature Photography, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to 05.14.2015 Thrilling Trout Lily Thursday

  1. Andrew says:

    Isn’t it sad that some people spoil it for others. We had a similar situation many years ago at a privately owned pond, where we went for birding. One day the access gate was padlocked and we were told if we wanted to go in we would have to pay. Your hobby is no different from paying to play golf, the owner said. A few people had been a nuisance and the landowner had had enough. The trout lilies are very attractive and I’m glad you can find them elsewhere.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m sorry to hear you may have lost access to another site, though I bet if you show the owner some of the pictures you’ve taken there—or even give him a few—you’ll be allowed to keep visiting. Either way, at least the place itself will still exist in nature. Here in Austin, by contrast, almost all the pieces of land I’ve lost access to have been because of development. I became aware of 4 or 5 last year, which was the worst so far, and this year I’ve already noticed a couple. As my grandmother used to say (but never about nature), oy vey.

      Once again I’m reminded of the difference between your Massachusetts trout lilies and the ones that grow in central Texas.

      Liked by 3 people

      • I would imagine that she has a few pictures already. But if I have a chance I will offer one or two. At least the place will continue to exist…unless it gets burned down by those beer drinking rocket scientists and brain surgeons…where your developed properties will be sadly lost forever.

        Like

    • I cannot blame the property owner one bit. I am sure that she is worried about one of those late night geniuses having one too many and setting the woods on fire. And, of course, seeing the place trashed cannot make her very happy either. It’s a lovely spot with the waterfalls and wildflowers. The drunks have little appreciation of that.
      This was actually the first time I had photographed the trout lilies here.

      Like

  2. Jim in IA says:

    How do land owners respond when asked for permission?

    Like

  3. Gorgeous photos! Waterfall looks magical 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lyle Krahn says:

    I can see why it would be a favourite – stunning shot. Too bad we can’t control the actions of others sometimes but we only control the things we can.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have one more from the lower falls that I like even better and may still post that in the future. I guess it would be nice to be able to change folks’ behavior, but they might wish to change ours too. That’s humanity for you.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh, Steve, isn’t that a disappointment? There is a sedge meadow that owns my heart, but access has been denied because of all the enthusiastic visitors it was receiving. 😦 I have so enjoyed to photos you’ve shared of these falls. The Trout Lily looks very fresh, indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love the trout lilies and yes, they are a different. The Texas lily is a whitish color and less showy. The yellow are gorgeous. I can understand about not being allowed access. The fun seekers ruin the good aspects of native habitat. It is the way it goes everywhere.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. shoreacres says:

    The trout lilies are so beautiful. Their leaves are attractive, too. I’m beginning to develop a real fondness for varigated leaves and flowers. They seem more interesting that the solidly-colored.

    If the owner of this land cares enough for it to want to preserve it, I’ve no doubt you would be able to re-gain access, because of your own love of the place. Nothing ventured, nothing gained — but talk with him in person, and with photos in hand.

    Perhaps it would be good to promise him you’ll not reveal the exact location of any photos taken, too. Around here, fishermen who’ve had an extraodinary catch don’t say, “I pulled up this baby on the south end of Hannah’s reef, just across from the old oyster beds.” They say, “I was fishing Galveston Bay.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Unfortunately I have ID’d this spot all over the internet previously, Linda. And, quite honestly, so many people already know about it that I doubt my silence will make much of a difference…nor my absence. And I doubt that the folks who see my images and take them as a suggestion for a place to visit are the ones creating the problem.
      It’s possible that my admiration of the place might make an impression.

      I think a lot of fishermen like to keep their favorite spots a secret. 🙂

      Like

  8. Oh this is sad, we are so dependent of other people sometimes.. pfff. Nature should be free, but I can understand the owner. If some people were disrespectful. Beautiful flower !

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Phil Lanoue says:

    Wow that’s truly a shame that a few morons have ruined things there.
    Since we live in a tourist area around Myrtle Beach, sadly we are used to visitors behaving badly.

    Like

    • Yeah, visitors don’t have much of an investment in keeping the spots pristine for others. But I also go to a few spots where fishermen hang out drowning worms and I can tell you that some of them don’t seem to respect the land much either…which, I am sure, pisses of the responsible fishermen just as much if not more than the rest of us.

      Like

  10. Lottie Nevin says:

    That’s sad, what a shame. At least you have some stunning photographs of the waterfall and good memories of times when it was not out of bounds. The lily is beautiful.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks, Lottie. I do have quite a number of satisfying shots from here. But, as with most all of my subjects, I always think there is a better image to be made on the next visit. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

