05.12.2015 Blue for Tuesday

I have several nice patches of a couple of violet species in my yard but not these Bird’s-foot Violet (Viola pedata) which I noticed walking back to my car while at the Quabbin this past Sunday morning.  They were so vivid even from a distance.Bird-Foot-Violet-051015-700Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 05.12.2015 Blue for Tuesday

  1. Jim in IA says:

    That blue is really rich. Thanks for the morning color. We have grey skies so far. It is supposed to turn blue later.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad to add a little color to a blah begiining of you day. The last few days started as yours today and became much bluer as the hours passed. Tomorrow’s image will be from one of those starts.
      We have one more mid-80s day. 20 degrees less warm tomorrow.

      Like

  2. If I noticed violets walking back to my car I’d be doubly surprised and wonder how they ever managed to walk away from the car in the first place. (Do you remember Groucho Marx playing a big-game hunter in Animal Crackers: “One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I don’t know.”)

    Flippancy aside, the vividness that you mention certainly comes through in your portrait. Do you happen to know what prompted the name bird’s-foot for this species?

    Like

  3. They really just have an air of special-ness about them, don’t they? Do you see Fritillary butterflies with them later in the season? It amazes me that such a small plant could be host plant to such a large butterfly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s amazing to me that the closer we get to nature the more special it becomes. Distance somehow takes that away and we often ignore the details that give it such a wonderful quality.
      I have not seen frits or any other butterfly on the violets…but that only means I’ve not been observant enough most likely. 🙂

      Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    If I were to see these, I’d never imagine them as violets. Apparently my conception of what a violet looks like is limited. The color’s lovely, though, and those leaves really are special. They do look like heron or egret prints, especially.

    Like

    • Violets do vary a bit, but they basically have the same five petal shape…bilaterally symmetrical with one that is lower and can be divided in half for the symmetry. The species most people think of are the ones with heart-shaped leaves, but they do vary and this one in particular is quite attractive, I think.

      Like

  5. Phil Lanoue says:

    That is a dynamic color! Excellent

    Like

  6. Bird’s-foot Violet certainly is a dainty beauty. I’m glad that you have some in your yard. I surely would feel honored to have some if they grew in my neck of the woods but no, they do not. But we have one native called Viola Missouriensis and I have a few of those that I’ve had for years.

    Your photo of this little beauty is outstanding with the blue color perfectly captured.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Andrew says:

    Pretty spectacular Steve. I found some pretty small blue flowers yesterday. I thought they might be orchids – turned out to be of the vetch family 😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

