05.11.2015 White and Red for Monday

Nope, it’s not a Painted Trillium if that’s what you were thinking.  Trillium is correct though.

A few days back I photographed this Red Trillium (Trillium erectum) near a favorite waterfall in Sunderland, MA.Red-Trillium-050315-700WebI knew that they were variable, but until today had only seen the reds.  This morning was the bearer of two firsts…my first hike in the Elf Meadow area (no, I didn’t get lucky and meet an elf…I think they are quite elusive) and my first white variant of the Trillium erectum.White-var.-Red-Trillium-051115-700WebI was lucky to be there on just the right day…well, maybe yesterday might have been a little less pollen-messy but that doesn’t show up on the white petals very much.

Elf Meadow is now on my annual hike list.  Maybe there will be some Painteds there this year too.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 05.11.2015 White and Red for Monday

  1. It is always a gift to have something to make Monday special.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Red and white proved your day’s delight.

    My eyes and brain see more magenta than red here. The fact that you have a white variant fits with my observation in Texas that purple flowers often have white variants.

    Like

  3. Jim in IA says:

    They are gorgeous. I like the red one best.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Both are quite nice. Is Elf Meadow a protected area? Something managed by the Nature Conservancy perhaps? You are certainly dedicated … a day’s work followed by a photo expedition? I usually find that I’ve got to be quite focused (excuse the horrid pun) to take the camera out. Any bothersome or troublesome thoughts get in the way and make it impossible to concentrate. Today it wasn’t work (I’ve now handed in final grades) … but clearing the garden, weeding raised beds, mowing, shorting sheep, and taking wethers to slaughter (and then cleaning the bed of the truck). Once all that was done I was simply played out (as they say around here). Maybe my diet needs to switch over to that healthy stuff you and Joanna consume at the breakfast table? D

    Liked by 1 person

    • Elf Meadow is one of our town’s conservation areas.

      There is a degree of dedication but in the opposite direction as this, along with the vast majority of my images, was in the morning. I am the same as you though when there is something hanging over my head like work or, as with today, a doctor’s appt. Even though I am generally done shooting by 10:00, knowing that I have a commitment puts a damper on my energy’s direction.

      Healthy eating is always a good choice…if only I made that good choice more often.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow and wow. Both of these flowers are beautiful. I could go on and on about these two flowers but I don’t have enough descriptive words so I’ll just say “that you done good- real good” by going to Elf Meadows. I’m so sorry that you did not encounter an elf or perhaps even a sprite. Better luck next time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    Both are beautiful, but the white’s my preference. It brings to mind our pearl milkweed, or snow-on-the-mountain — a couple of flowers that have especially appealing combinations of white and green.

    I thought of you today. I spotted a couple of large fungi growing out of a stump in a vacant lot. No camera of course, but I suspect they aren’t going anywhere. I’ve never taken a photo of fungus, so I’ll make it a point to swing back by and see what it might be.

    Like

    • I prefer the white also. I find the red in such profusion that the white is like a breath of fresh air. As well, I think I prefer white flowers generally despite the sometimes difficulty of capturing the white without overexposing it.

      I am assuming you thought of me in terms of photographing a fungus and not that fungus reminds you of me…although fungus is quite a fine organism. I hope you do get a chance to photograph it both for your curiosity and mine.

      Like

  7. Oh, wow, I would definitely want to spend time in a place called Elf Meadows. I’ve never seen the white form of this Trillium, either.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: 05.01.2017 Chapel Brook Cascade | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

