05.02.2015 Waiting for the Sun

Just before I made the image I posted last Saturday of the sunstar over the Quabbin Reservoir, I did a couple of test shots with my new Lee Little Stopper (a 6-stop neutral density filter…the Big Stopper is 10) to try it out. The idea was to smooth out the water’s motion and let all the attention flow to the horizon.  I had gone there with the express goal of capturing a sunstar, but I think that this is my favorite from that shoot.

Old-Enfield-Road-Sunrise-4C-042515-700WebThis was in combination with the 3-stop reverse graduated neutral density filter to balance the foreground exposure with the sky.

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Water, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 05.02.2015 Waiting for the Sun

  1. It seems serene and mysterious at the same time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Andrew says:

    This jumps up my list of Gingold favourites without a doubt. Morning blue hour is the best time of day.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Outstanding photo of early morning. I like this one a lot. The trees at the top add a great deal of interest to the overall scene.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lyle Krahn says:

    Ah the ultimate smooth!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is a very beautiful and well balanced shot 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lottie Nevin says:

    Utterly serene. What a beautiful image.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

