4.29A.2015 Stratified Rock and Tenacious Tree

Today is a two-fer.  After shooting the waterfall at Dean Brook the other day, I turned around and saw this pile of rocks with a tree on top.  I really like these stratified rocks when they are revealed and especially when a tree is growing over and around the rock.

Stratified-Rock-and-trees-Dean-Brook-042715-700WebWe made it to 78° today.  Next thing you know, I’ll be complaining about the heat.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Environment., Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 4.29A.2015 Stratified Rock and Tenacious Tree

  1. Jim in IA says:

    Isn’t that the truth. First the cold and snow. Next the heat. Are we ever happy?

    That tree has been hanging on for a long time. Impressive. Looks like a fern down below the moss.

    Like

  2. This is a gorgeous photograph[. I like the rocks, the moss and, the ferns that are pushing up from the fallen leaves. The one tree root to the left that is below the rocks has such an interesting shape.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Lottie Nevin says:

    I’d say that tree is somewhere between a rock and a hard place……..BOOM BOOM!
    78 degrees? Definitely time to get those shorts on! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lyle Krahn says:

    I like the interruption those rocks make to otherwise consistent ground cover.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You struck a familiar chord with me because there’s a tree on a bluff over a creek in Great Hills Park that reminds me of your tree, except the supporting rocks here don’t have the lavish moss that yours do, and that are such a rich part of your photograph.

    Like

    • I hope you will share an image of your tree. I enjoy having the mossy greens in shots like this and was happy it was part of the scene.

      Like

      • That tree is off the main trail, and I’ve only occasionally stood beneath it, but I don’t know if I ever photographed it. I found the roots of the pohutukawa trees half-way around the world in New Zealand more appealing, but maybe I should revisit the smaller local tree.

        Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    Big doings down here in Texas. Since my last comment here, I’ve hooked up a brand-spanking new computer monitor, and your photos look even better. I went from a 17″ 1440 x 900 to a 24″ 1920 x 1080, and I am happy.

    This is a great photo to test it out on, given the variety of textures and detail. The root on the left looks as though it’s saying, “Namaste.”

    Like

  7. Marvelous. I, too, really like stratified rock with trees growing on them. They are neat!
    Last week temps soared up near 90. ugh. My system has a hard time dealing with such extreme swings. Today it should be 60~perfect.

    Like

    • The heat has never troubled me very much, Melissa. But as I age I am finding anything over 80 to be rather oppressive. It is fortunate that I prefer the early morning. Like you, I am now finding the 60s and 70s to be much better on the system.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

