04.29.2015 Common Bladderwort with companion

I thought I had posted this more recently than my first post of five years ago.ย  Steve S. asked to see a bladderwort (Urtricularia vulgaris) if I had an image and this is the only one…a shortcoming that will be remedied when possible this summer.

Bull Frog Singing - CopyThis is the Common Bladderwort or Greater Bladderwort which is quite confusing…how can one be common and greater at the same time?ย  And I don’t see anything vulgar about it either.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Animal Behavior, Closeup Photography, Fauna, Flora, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to 04.29.2015 Common Bladderwort with companion

  1. Speaking of bladders, froggy has a conspicuous one. The “greater” that applies to the plant could apply to that bladder too, though “broader” or “wider” might be more appropriate. And look at all the texture in that yellow-green surface. You pulled off a technical feat by getting the flowers and froggy in focus at the same time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lyle Krahn says:

    My goodness that’s a beauty! You found him on a great spot.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh this is incredible ! what a great shot !! I don’t think I’ve ever seen these little creatures in the wild. Maybe I don’t pay enough attention ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nor I, and I adore the frog. I so seldom see them anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Steve, this is an outstanding photo and I really like this one. One could say that the bull frog out did the bladderwort by a country mile. The flower might be common but the frog is not. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Andrew says:

    Kermit seems to be putting on a little weight, Steve. Super photo.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jim in IA says:

    Did you see the Nature show on Fabulous Frogs last year? It was hosted by David Attenborough. Your fellow would have been a good addition.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Mark says:

    I would have never guessed this to be an example image of Bladderwort – mostly because I didn’t know what it was. But it is one great frog pic for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lottie Nevin says:

    Steve, that is a TREMENDOUS photograph! Absolutely perfect in every way. I’d kiss that frog like a shot! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  10. shoreacres says:

    This probably is the explanation for vulgaris in the scientific name. In Latin, it refers to the common people, and “vulgar” was used to mean common or ordinary before it took on the meaning of crass or crude. The Latin translation of the Bible was called the Vulgate because it made the book accessible to common people of ancient Rome.

    That aside, Mr. Froggie is a wonder. All of you photographers amaze me with you ability to captures images like this. He does look a little pensive. Perhaps he’s trying to figure you out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

