04.28.2015 Dean Brook Waterfall

It’s just a small waterfall in height…maybe 4 or 5 feet, but the various rocky layers make for a  complex collection of cascades with a rooster tail thrown in.

Dean-Brook-Waterfall-1-042715-700WebLoud too.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 04.28.2015 Dean Brook Waterfall

  1. Jim in IA says:

    Does your camera have an audio recording capability? Could it be included with images? I don’t see why not. It would take some doing.

    Like

  2. I like your view and also your use of the alliterative phrase “complex collection of cascades.”

    Like

  3. Aah, another beautiful waterfall. Looks like significant power in all that water. The falls are in all their glory from the melting snow this time of year or am I wrong and most waterfalls flow like this year round?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Yvonne. This is mostly related to the winter melt and the rain we had earlier in the spring. Some brooks do maintain a good flow through the year but not at this level and many reduce to a trickle as summer wears on.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Andrew says:

    You have these down to a fine art Steve. Like you video holds no appeal. There is plenty of movement in this image and I can provide my own audio track in my head.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. shoreacres says:

    The only rooster tails I get to see around here are the ones behind the so-called “personal watercraft.” They’re completely annoying. Your photo isn’t annoying at all, and I suspect the falls are much more enjoyable than an afternoon listening to Ski-doos.

    I have a friend whose daughter lives in Connecticut. She keeps muttering about us heading up that way to see the fall foliage. From your photos, I’d say New England in any season would be fine.

    Liked by 1 person

    • When I was younger and interested in the various racing venues, I enjoyed the super-powered boats and the rooster tails they would create as they took off. I lost interest in them quickly and never, not even for a moment, had any interest in a Ski-doo. Way too noisy and, were I a boating enthusiast, annoying. SO my favorite rooster tails are the kind that are created by water hitting rock…although the chicken kind are cool too.

      Most of New England may not be as spectacular as other places in the west, Florida etc.,although the coast in Maine is pretty awesome, but the forest and mountains have there own special charms and I am perfectly content living here. It would definitely be worth your while to visit in early October.

      Like

  6. It looks loud. I was so excited last summer to find that there is a falls of sorts here in Lake County! It is on my list to paint but that list is pretty long. I’d have to heavily edit it, too, as the setting isn’t pretty like this one. You are in a lovely spot 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I envy your freedom to interpret a scene as you wish it to be with little question by viewers while as a nature photographer I am expected to present a scene as it is in reality. I could alter it but that doesn’t always receive positive reviews. Photographic composition isn’t as easy as some think.
      Thanks…we do have quite a few lovely locations here in WMass and even more as you travel through New England. I am glad you have a falls nearby to visit.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

