04.26.2015 And they’re off!

A lot of folks in the eastern part of the state have been seeing flowers already, but we are just now starting to make some progress into spring.

I visited my usual early spot for wildflowers this morning and found some Bloodroot and Dutchman’s Breeches.  In both cases it is still early but there were several that had formed buds which are just beginning to open.

I saw the Dicentra cucullaria, aka Dutchman’s Breeches, first along the road so I knew there would be some on the ledges above. I liked the threesome seen here.

Dutchman's-Breeches-042615-700WebAfter that I made my way back and then up towards another spot where the Bloodroot (Sanguinaria canadensis) is usually found ahead of other spots.  One had bloomed fully but dropped a petal so I kept on and found this bud in the process of opening.  I immediately thought it would make a nice Black and White image.  I wanted the petals to be the focal point, of course, so took out my large 30″ reflector and used it to shade the background.  My smaller 12″ reflector was then used to illuminate the flower and add some light inside the curled leaf.

Bloodroot-Bud-opening-042615-700WebAlong with the flower, I like the way the light enhances the texture of the backside of the leaf…a bonus.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Closeup Photography, Flora, macro photography, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 04.26.2015 And they’re off!

  1. Ah, so elegant Steve 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim in IA says:

    We were out for a hike this morning before doing some grocery shopping. There was a patch of Dutchman’s Breeches by the trail. It was one of the biggest groups I’ve seen.

    I put together a rotating composter bin today. Our city offered $20 coupons for purchases of composter bins or rain barrels. It looks like it will be sturdy and easy to use.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We have a stationary bin for composting. I often wonder how one would keep the freshly added material from the compost that is ready for use with the rotating variety. Mary Beth is not too happy with me. The other day, thinking I was being helpful, I took the tool for the purpose and mixed up all the vegetable stuff that we had added from the past winter into the compost. Now when she scoops some from the bottom the gets the celery stumps and egg shells. Oops.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jim in IA says:

        That’s a problem we will learn to cope with. This one is a horizontal barrel. The crank on the end rotates it. Maybe new stuff goes toward one end and the mix gradually gets shifted toward the other end. That might work.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Both photos are impressive. Photo number one with the flowers at the top of the pic seem be hands reaching for the sky. Honestly, I’m in awe of the first photo. I have looked at it multiple times. It seems unusual to me but then my eyes see things in a weird way. The B&W is outstanding but in a different class of its own.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. In the second picture, my eyes were quickly drawn to the bonus you mentioned, the texture on the backside of the leaf. Those textured protrusions reminded me of something that probably didn’t come to mind for you, the plates running along the top of a stegosaurus. Coming back to botany, the opening bloodroot flower reminded me of the rain-lilies that we have in Austin, which have similar-looking patterning and tonality.

    Like

    • You are right…dinosaurs never entered my mind. I have always enjoyed the strong texture of the bloodroot leaves. I worried about this one being too distracting to the eye but decided it was OK.

      Like

      • Now that you mention it I can see why you were concerned about a possible distraction, but even when I look at it now with that in mind I don’t find it distracting.

        Like

      • As we discussed on the other post, as a photographer we look at the image for possible flaws that most anyone else wouldn’t notice…or at least give much thought to.

        Like

  5. BuntyMcC says:

    Thank you for tramping through the woods to show me/use these beautiful flowers, beautifully photographed.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Phil Lanoue says:

    Looks super Steve!

    Like

  7. Love your artful bloodroot image, my plant is finally blooming this year after a couple of years of trying.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Andrew says:

    Elegant is the right word. Good to know the breeches are off and the season has started.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, the breeches are off…but I kept mine on.. My local patch of bloodroot and trout lilies is just about ripe too. Unfortunately, so is the patch of thorny brambles that I need to get through.

      Like

  9. Lottie Nevin says:

    Both are splendido but I particularly love the B&W one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. shoreacres says:

    It’s been one of those weeks. The bad news is I’m so far behind in my reading. The good news is I have a whole bouquet of photos to enjoy, and this one is wonderful. The Dutchman’s breeches are very nice, but that black and white is striking. Personally, I think it would be far less dramatic and compelling without the curled and lighted leaf. The contrast in textures between the bud and the leaf is appealing.

    The bud also reminds me of the rain lilies Steve mentioned. I saw a few last week, after our really substantial rains. I was a little surprised, as we usually see them later, but I suppose the water got them in the mood to bloom.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. I sometimes try for the perfect shot without admitting that there is no perfect shot because each has its own charm and character. I am pretty satisfied with the bloodroot as being very different from any other image I’ve made of them. As much as I love the flower, I think I love the leaves even more.

      Like

Leave a Reply

