04.25.2015 Practice, practice, practice

My first time out with the new Lee Filter system.  I did OK, but there were a few glitches…no, I am not going to point them out.    🙂

I can say that I really like the setup much better than the Singh-Ray Cokin arrangement.  I am sure the Lee filters are probably comparable to S-R, but the holder is better on a scale of multiples.  The adapter rings screw on much easier and the holder clips on much easier as well.  I like it.  All that said, for this image I used the 3-stop Reversed Neutral Grad from Singh-Ray that fits the Lee holder.

As predicted, the temperature got below freezing overnight so chilly fingers prevented me from baring my thumb for the shot…and it turned out to not be necessary.

This is at one of my favorite sunrise spots along the shore of the Quabbin.

Old-Enfield-Road-Sunrise-3-042515-700Web

Weather permitting, I will be out practicing again tomorrow.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Water, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 04.25.2015 Practice, practice, practice

  1. It’s a beautiful scene whether you used a lee filter or not. I looked at the web site for the filters and yes, the filter definitely adds excellent color saturation and enhancement to what ever scene you are photographing. I can not tell if you had any glitches with the filter or not since the photo looks so pleasing to the eye.’

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this shot, the colours but also the framing. Nice sunset !!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Andrew says:

    I don’t think you need any practice Steve. A very accomplished result.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Jim in IA says:

    I see why you like that spot for sunrises.

    You sure lost me with the talk about filters, etc. 😯 blink blink

    Liked by 1 person

    • In this case, Jim, the filter is helping to control the dynamic range…the balance of highlight and shadow. If I did not use one either the sky would overexpose or the foreground rocks would underexpose…or both could happen. A gradual neutral density filter shades a portion of the field of view allowing the sensor/film to capture more of the light and mimicking to a degree the way our eyes adjust to the dynamic range. The holder allows the rectangular filter to slide up and down and the placement of the shading to be located in just the right spot. Here I used a reversed filter so the darkest area can be at the horizon and the shading lessens upward just as the natural lighting did.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Just Rod says:

    Wonderful result Steve. I can’t detect the flaws. The colour and light effects are very nice. And I like the textural quality – like tiny pointillism.

    Looking forward to more.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think that as long-time and dedicated photographers we can’t help noticing things in our pictures that we wish had come out better. Unless that’s carried to an extreme of self-deprecation, I don’t see it as a failing but as a striving for the best possible result.

    Your mention of freezing temperatures in Massachusetts in late April doesn’t surprise me, but it’s alien to Austin, where yesterday’s high was around 91°.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. shoreacres says:

    This is lovely. I’m especially attracted to the movement of the water. I suspect it’s the filter that toned down the sun a bit, and balanced it with the water and rocks.

    Like

    • Yes, Linda. Controlling the sun and the sky surrounding it is key to the balance of light here. I was hoping to maintain some of the”sculpted” quality around the rocks and got lucky.Thanks.

      Like

  8. Girl Gone Expat says:

    I have no idea what a Lee Filter system is, but assume it is some sort of ND filter? A very nice sunrise, the rocks in the front and tree branches in the top of the frame help give it the little extra. Only thing I would offer as a tiny improvement would be straightening the horizon, but I am probably the only one noticing as I am a bit if a perfectionist when it comes to levelling:)
    A great picture!

    Like

    • Thanks, Gin. I think you are right. I usually have a bubble level in place so not sure how I missed that. Easily corrected.
      The Lee system is a holder and series of filters, both NDs and GNDs with a variety of uses.

      Like

    • Straightening it out was not as easy as it might seem. The two hills are not in the same plane so there is an optical illusion that it is still not straight…but it is. Thanks for the heads up. That would be embarrassing to have left it crooked.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: 05.02.2015 Waiting for the Sun | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

