04.24.2015 Dog-tooth Violet

Once again, a Steve Schwartzman inspired post.  A short while back, Steve asked if I had a shot of this plant on the blog and I said that I didn’t really have one that I was totally pleased with.  I forgot this image from a local ditch that is a prolific haunt for these.  Brown is a color also and, while I prefer green for this type of shot, the background here blends well with the bloom.

I am more prone to call this a Trout Lily, which I believe is the more popular name…at least in the northeast…but Dog-tooth Violet is pretty widespread as well.  If we say Erythronium americanum then there can be no confusion.  🙂

Trout-Lily-Closeup-042709-700-WebThe problem, for me anyway, with this flower is the back of the petals which quite often will overexpose.  The date for this file is 4/29/09, so maybe I will be lucky and find a few more tomorrow or so.

Have a great weekend, everyone.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, macro photography, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 04.24.2015 Dog-tooth Violet

  1. Wonderful, Steve. The brown background is smashing against the yellow. Hope you have a good weekend too, and lots of flowers and compositions.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim in IA says:

    Very graceful form.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful photo of the yellow flowered species. In Texas there are three species. Two are white flowered and one is yellow flowered. A nice colony grew near my home and a very upscale addition was built on land that adjoined the steep dry creek bed where I found Erythronium Albidum growing. I have not been back since the addition was added for I’d need to have a man accompany me and walk there in a round about way. The area would not be safe for a woman alone. The lilies also grow in Cameron Park but the city needs to eradicate many alien invaders that are choking out native plants. I have not followed up on that due to becoming ill so I haven’t the foggiest what is going on in the park either. The lily is not common but at the same time is not considered a rarity where it is fairly prolific in the eastern part of the state. It is said to grow as far south as south central Texas so that would be parts of the Hill country where Steve S. lives.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’d love to see the other varieties…but then I’d love to see most any new flower, or old one for that matter.
      It’s too bad about the addition. Builders have to build, I guess. What amazes me is, at least around here, that both contractors and landscapers seem to splinter off into new businesses. The employees decide to have their own business and building starts up all over. It seems as though I see a new one almost every week.

      Liked by 1 person

      • True words. My town of about 120,000 plus or minus is constantly adding new businesses. Stores of this or that and more restaurants than one could imagine for a town of this size. I am flabbergasted about all the construction. But there are new folks moving in all the time. There is Space X (rocket program), a university with a huge new state of the art football stadium, a state run technical school, a junior college, two hospitals and doctors and attorney’s everywhere you look.

        Liked by 1 person

      • We don’t have much industry, but the University of Massachusetts dominates the economy and land use…and requires lots of restaurants.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. krikitarts says:

    You did just fine with avoiding the back-petal overexposure, and the earth-tone background offsets the brilliant yellow just beautifully. I’m partial to the trout-lily name.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Andrew says:

    I see no overexposure – on the contrary, it looks perfect. The brown complements the yellow and I would not change it.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Mark says:

    Trout Lily in my book, and a fine photo of one at that!

    Like

  7. It’s fun to look through archives and find good pictures we’d forgotten about. That’s one thing that makes history in general a rewarding study.

    Like

  8. Phil Lanoue says:

    Looks super Steve!

    Like

Leave a Reply

